Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

Movie Review: Sweeney Todd January 20, 2008

Filed under: Movie Review — bombshellwithin @ 11:47 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

Waterhorse tub

Rubba-dub-dub 3 weirdos in a tub…

they didn’t have a Sweeney Todd cardborard display, so we had to settle for this one.  We’re such dorks!

 

Personal opinion review of Sweeney Todd: Demon Barber of Fleet Street:

So, I had never read the whole tale of Sweeney Todd.  For those who don’t know it’s a tale of a barber who was put in jail for life for the simple reason of another man’s lust for his wife.  Since the man is a judge and powerful, he sees no justice and he loses his wife and daughter because of this.  When he returns, he’s a changed man and seeking revenge.  Aided by Mrs. Lovett, a woman driven by her infatuation by him, he ends up going on a sort of killing spree until the right time in which he can face the judge again and slit his throat with the straight razors he weilds so cunningly in his craft.  I went to the movies just because I L-O-V-E Johnny Depp.  He’s just handsome and gorgeous and a total dreamboat.  And few people can do dark and deranged like he can.  I’d seen the trailer and I just couldn’t believe it was him.    

With an open mind and no real expectations, we settled in to watch.  It was a musical and I had no idea Depp could sing.  It was… entrancing.  His voice carried such intensity, his character so much tormented depth.  I wept for him towards the end as I was utterly horrified by the scenes and bewitched by his performance.  The man truly deserved his Golden Globe.  Helena Bonham Carter played Mrs. Lovett and she had the dark vulnerability and reserved practicality that was needed for her role.   I wasn’t crazy about her singing though. 

The cinematography and the colorized stylings that are so very much Tim Burton were very right for this tale.  The blood was shocking but not sickening, the deaths precise and not overglorified.  It was gory but tasteful.  Though I did spend a good amount of time flinching and there was a point where I had to hide my face against my best fried and screech, it wasn’t more than I could handle.  I’m just very sensitive to these sorts of things.

In the end, I highly recommend for everyone to see this movie.  The songs are catchy and you’ll begin to want to belt into song while walking out of the place.  The ending was dark but justified.  I didn’t find it depressing at all but more stirring and profound.  Hopefully you could appreciate it as much as I did.

Sweeney Todd

 

 

2 Responses to “Movie Review: Sweeney Todd”

  1. grace Says:

    yup, yup. i agree almost 100%. the movie makes us think about how we ourselves sometimes help ruin our lives even more. when the fates (or corrupt government officials like A—– and A—-) conspire against us and keep us in hell for 15years, what do we do? should we slit throats or rise above adversity? hmmmm…..

    seriously, i think the movie’s focus was not really on morbidity but on various philosophical aspects of existence….

  2. Hi grace, thanks so much for dropping by my blog!

    And I agree! The movie’s focus isn’t morbidity… if that were the case, there would have been more gruesome details. Instead, the coloration and the fluid progression helped transcend past the deaths and killings.

    You can even agree with some of the logic and distress within that suffering tortured soul….


Leave a Reply

