Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

Eternal Sunshine of the Crochet Blanket January 21, 2008

Filed under: crafts,Crochet — bombshellwithin @ 7:03 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

Blanket throw

I feel like I’ve been working on this afghan for forever! 

Actually, I began the project back in September ’06.  I stopped that December when it got large enough to cover my lap and the weather was no longer as cool.  I used a long crochet needle and an afghan stitch to do the main body.  Since it would cover my lap it was uncomfortable to work in this PR heat.  I folded it away into a box and didn’t touch it again until the weather cooled down this last December.  It’s approximately 120 stitches x 180 stitches.  I kept going until it FELT right.  I used a multi colored baby yarn because it was so soft and the yellow, white and pink would blend so beautifully. 

Edging

It took some serious consideration to select the outer edging color.  I selected an off white.  To do the edging, I did half stitching for 4 lines, a straight stick stitch, 2 half stitch, a straight stitch and 4 more half stitch lines.  I think it came out very elegantly.  My mother was atempting to teach me the stitches for the edging as I went along.  It wasn’t easy because she’s left handed and I’m right handed.  When we crochet, we do it backwards to one another.  But, luckily, I understood the gist of the stitches and was able to do it.  I was particularly proud of my corners.

Edging 2

As a bit of embellishment on the outer lines, I did a scallop line with the offwhite by making 6 straight stitches in one one stitch and then counting them off for every 4 stitches along the line, more or less.  Then, since I was all out of offwhite and still felt like it needed a little more, I’m adding a final line in what is left of the baby yarn.  It’s been very slow in working.  I’m doing an alternate scallop edging to the first, with 3 chain in the middle of the 6 stitching on the scallop and on the tops of the scallops in between.  I know I’m probably not explaining it right, but if anyone wants to know how to do it, I know I could explain it more in detail.  I just don’t want to bore anyone reading this with too much technical stuff.

I’m still not done.  I’m barely through that final line along the first side of the throw.  It’s going to be a long way in working.  It uses a lot of thread and the baby yarn is very flimsy so it’s difficult to have it hold with so many chains and stitches.  But, it’s getting just the right look that I wanted.  I’m hoping to be able to gift this to my sister in law, who is also one of my best friends in the whole world.  When I finish with all the crochet part, I’m going to cross stitch onto the center her name and perhaps a cute little animal onto it to sort of match the ones that my brothers and I have.  We’ll see how that goes.  Hopefully it won’t take me another year to decide to pick it up and complete it!

 

3 Responses to “Eternal Sunshine of the Crochet Blanket”

  1. Dee Says:

    at leat you are honest it might take you another year but i look foward to it. I love you tons too!

  2. shelly Says:

    you have one like this to sell?

  3. Shelly, well.. I considered selling this one before deciding it was destined for my SIL. I’m sure I could make one to sell, but it does take several months to make…


Leave a Reply

