Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

Following in meme footsteps January 21, 2008

Ivy faerie 

SO!  I jacked this meme from The Tempered Woman who totally took it from Quirky Cupcake.  And since at The Bombshell Within we like to get everyone knowing WAY more about me than they would like, I’m going to get to answering the questions.

What were you doing 10 years ago? Alright… lesse…. 10 years ago I was 11 going to turn 12 in 2 months time.  So that would put me in 7th grade.  At this time I had already spent a semester in Puerto Rico and hating every minute of it.  I knew that if I didn’t do something about it, I was going to crack and lose myself.  So I, along with the help of my Math teacher Miss Martinez, was trying to convince all my other teachers that I needed to be changed out of the bad group (orignally placed there because I was from New York and didn’t know Spanish, so they didn’t have much hope for me) to the brainy group.  Why go through that trouble?  Well, that group got treated differently and were on a ‘higher’ level.  I’d learned Spanish in 2 months and my math skills (the real standard they used to separate the kiddies) was way beyond those of even the smart kids.  Hence, I pushed and pleaded and just about bullied my way into being changed homerooms.  And it was a good thing I did because the public school system keeps the smart kids together.  A way of protecting them from all the bad eggs.  So I was with most of these kids until high school.  It was because of this crucial academic move that I was able to take advanced placement tests for College and become early admissions down the road. 

What were you doing 1 year ago?  One year ago…. I was arguing with my then long distance boyfriend.  He totally sucked with the holidays.  I didn’t get a gift and he didn’t even call to say happy new years… not even considering that I was an hour ahead of him and therefore he had 2 opportunities to send me his love.  By this point there was this little crossdressing twit from a chatroom he and I both frequented who proceeded to tell me all sorts of dirty things he had done with my boyfriend.  Stupid me believed my bf.  Damn… I’m too loyal for my own good.  Besides that, I was basically in the same place I am now with my college career.  Still hoping and wishing that this will FINALLY be my last one and that this will be all over with soon.

Five snacks you enjoy:

  1. A little can of octopus with crackers, seriously!  I love that stuff! 
  2. Oreo cookies, preferably not in any close proximation of consumption with #1.  Although, who am I kidding?!?!?!  Any cookie will do.
  3. Fruit, I really do love pears and green apples!  I clean my mother out whenever I go home.
  4. Saltines.  I dunno why.  I can’t have any around or I’ll snack away on them and there won’t be any left.  But!  They are so gosh dern good with munster cheese.
  5. Almonds.  I just seriously ❤ these things.

Five songs you know all the lyrics to:

  1. “Fuck Her Gently” by Tenacious D.  The good and dirty version, not the crap they played on the radio.  Darn them and their editing ways!!
  2. “Elephant Song Medley” from Moulin Rouge.  Too many car trips around the island has led me to know all the songs from this soundtrack actually.  To make it worse, between my best friend and I, we can divide us all the songs respectively between his being Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman.
  3. “You are my Sunshine” because I used to sing this to my little brother a lot when  he was smaller… I gave him a little windup pillow from when I was a baby.  We’d turn it on and sing it together.  He’s a decade younger than me.  It was sweet and cute.
  4. “This never happened to me before” by Paul McCartney.  I really and totally love this song since the first time I heard it in the movie “The LakeHouse”.  I now know the precise timing in the movie when the song plays… in the movie itself and during credits.
  5. “A Rose is a Rose” by Poe.  This song is just fun and funny…… My older brother really got me into this artist.  She’s gorgeous and  I know most of her songs.  Or at least I think I do.  I’m one of those who has the song on and can spout it all off no problem.  But on my own it takes a pause or so to get to belting them out.

Five things you would do if you were a millionaire:

  1. Here’s where I get to be a beauty pageant contestant and say ‘World Peace’ right?
  2. Help out in the effort to stop global warming.
  3. buy all the pretty round toe pumps, corsets and socks that my heart can love
  4. make the house of my dreams with the absolute perfect kitchen (which looks an awful like Martha’s house on Turkey Hill)
  5. Travel around the world whenever the whim hits me to learn a new language.

Five bad habits:

  1. Skipping class (I REALLY have to get better on this one!)
  2. Checking my blog stats compulsively
  3. Sleeping though my alarm clock
  4. Always using the second bite of food to try and decipher what’s in it if I wasn’t the one to make it.
  5. Not trusting anyone in my household to do any of the baking right (I have been very rightfully labeled as the cookie nazi)

Five things you like doing:

  1. Reading Romance novels; I won’t defend my choices to you!  I love them and I have read hundreds of them and perhaps may even have written several hundred pages of one.
  2. Chatting on IRC; that’s how I met tartlet!  So yay!
  3. Hitting the mall; I go way more than I should but since I don’t drink or party, there’s NOTHING else for me to do around here!
  4. Baking; seriously, who doesn’t?!
  5. Being creative and learning new hobbies; currently I’m learning to sew, finishing crocheting a blanket/throw, I need to cross stitch some stuff onto said blanket/throw

Five things you would never wear again:

  1. That terrible crochet shrug that my aunt bought me from Brazil.  I had to wear it once to please her but royal purple is SO not my color.
  2. That awful peach/pink blouse my mother gave to me because it fit me even though it was originally given to her from her own mother.  Ick… to many sparkles, I shudder.
  3. Halloween outfits from 2003; where I was a pink pixie in a see through babydoll nightie just barely clearing the bottom of my rump.. it didn’t SEEM transparent until I hit the bars under black lighting and suddently the white undies I were wearing popped right out and ALL you could read was the word ‘HOTTIE’ sprawled across my bottom. 
  4. Halloween outfit from 2004; where I was a bunny.  That year it was a white one and I had to wear all sorts of waist cinchers and such just to fit into it (boy!  I learned the hard way to try things on before buying) and 7 inch heels… bright pink that laced up my leg to the thigh in ribbon.. and the fronts looked like ballet shoes… on VERY high platforms
  5. My green prom dress.  I dunno… It’s a glorious color but I just didn’t like the shape.

[I still have semi pics of the bunny outfit and the green prom dress which I will only share by popular demand.]

Five favorite toys:

  1. Jamie, my laptop
  2. Olly, my camera
  3. Jolly Rancher, my ipod nano v2
  4. Fatty, oh!  wouldn’t you like to know!
  5. my sewing machine, which I have just realized has not been named! 

What is one totally embarassing but true fact about yourself that most people don’t know about you?  Shoot!  I think I already covered this one with my whole section on songs I know the lyrics too! 

You’ve been tagged!  Now you must fill this out on your respective page thingy that you fill with all your stream of conscious ramblings… that is, if you haven’t already.

 

4 Responses to “Following in meme footsteps”

  1. Hey~ I’m a huge Moulin Rouge soundtrack fan. I rushed out right after seeing the movie. And I demand a posting of pics. You can’t tease and not put out sister! I don’t know about the can of octopus though. I’m withholding judgment for now. Which is a huge accomplishemnt for me. Really.

  2. YAY!!! You came on over to read about me!

    And I am truly honored, TW, that you are reserving judgement. It is a little dicey, I know, but I really do enjoy it. Especially if you put some hot sauce on it.

    Oh! And I guess I can put up pics… but well…. Let’s see when I do it. Probably a day when I need something to put up and have been utterly boring with my life.
    [yeah yeah.. I know… I’m making excuses! But!!! I’ll put it up soon, I promise. Need some liquid courage or something.]

  3. Dallas Says:

    i just love my dog. but you’re a riot .. cute stuff you
    embroider, both in words and deeds. kiss

  4. Awwwww dalgal, so sweet of you to say! *kisses* Means so much to me that you like me… you really, really like me.

    And TW! There! The pictures are posted. The only one I don’t have a pic of is of the pink pixie. A video exists to someone random from the bar I went to, but no one I know has anything… that I know of, at least.


Leave a Reply

