Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

The “Running a fever, am hungry and don’t have much in the pantry” bowl of soup January 30, 2008

Filed under: food,Recipes — bombshellwithin @ 8:40 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

Today I was home running what I’m going to call a fever.  For breakfast I had made my tried and true comfort food, soft boiled eggs.  Then I just didn’t feel inclined to eat for the rest of the day.  My mother called and after we got to talking, she really urged me to eat something, anything.  Since I didn’t want to send my housemate out to buy me soup, I stood in my kitchen and let it speak to me.  I began thinking I would make some mashed potatoes because they are my secondary favorite comfort food.  However, as I was washing the potato, I noticed some key canned ingredients in my pantry.  So, I got to work.

I peeled and chopped one medium sized potato and put it in a medium sized saucepan.  I poured one can of low sodium chicken broth, covered and set that sucker to a boil.  As that heated, I defrosted one chicken breast.  Chopping it into pretty chunks, I dumped this into my boiling broth.  I tilted some salt and adobo (a common hispanic seasoning made from garlic powder, pepper, oregano, onion powder and salt) seasoning and covered it once again.  Meanwhile I chopped up 2 tablespoons of green bell pepper and about half a small onion (I am particularly fond of onions).  With the chicken partially cooked, the vegetables went in.  I let this boil for about 5 minutes and then lowered the heat to about a medium low.  While on this simmer, I proceeded to add about a half cup of sliced mushrooms and a quarter cup of corn.  Returning 5 minutes later, I stirred some more and tested the potatoes.  Once they were cooked, I fished out as many as I could into a small bowl.  Using a fork, I mashed the heck out of them before dumping them back into my bubbling soup.  While stirring the potatoes in, I added 1/4 cup of evaporated milk and more adobo to taste.  Leaving it uncovered, I simmered it on low for an additional 15 minutes… or until I was just too hungry to care.

   soup bowl

 

2 Responses to “The “Running a fever, am hungry and don’t have much in the pantry” bowl of soup”

  1. Jamie Says:

    I’m sorry you had a fever! 😦

    The soup looks delicious! It’s always fun (at least it is to me) to grab random ingredients and make a soup or some other dish. Extemporaneous cooking FTW! 😀

    Mmmmmm adobo. I haven’t used it in soooooo long. Thanks for reminding me I should get more!

  2. Thank you, sweetie. You’re the one person who said my soup looked good. The others… well, they weren’t so kind about my lack of food styling abilities. But the soup really was quite yummy and hit the spot when I wasn’t feeling well.

    And I always cook with adobo. I use it in everything. Don’t even think I have a thingie of salt……


Leave a Reply

