Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

A passionate cupcake hero in the making? February 3, 2008

Now… for those of you who do not know, Cupcake Hero is a fun cupcake activity run by slush over at Quirky Cupcake.  This talented cupcake diva selects an ingredient a month and wannabe bakers such as myself get out cupcake pans out and try to go to town with it.  The winner gets the bragging rights as well as a lovely Cupcake Hero t-shirt.  This month, slush has gone and joined up with Tempered Woman for the special item of liquor.  

As it were, I usually do not cook with alcohol.  I find no need to sneak it into food when I can have a nice cup of it on it’s own.  But, when I went home this weekend, I told my mother about the ingredient and how I was slightly disappointed over how I’d probably sit this month out too (last month was coffee and I totally wussed out.. I mean, I live in PR and my hometown is known for it’s wonderful brew!)  She stayed quiet for a few moments and then the lightbulb literally flickered on in her head.  Immediately she went with her favorite drink, Passoa with orange juice and cranberry.  Now… tell me that that doesn’t sound like it would make an amazing cupcake.  My head was whirling.  Of course!  We needed an orange cake, cranberries added in… and Passoa used liberally in everything I could stick it in.  I didn’t think I was going to get a chance to make them right away but then we stoped at the supercenter Wal-mart yesterday and I immediately went skipping around the aisles to find whatever I felt I needed to make these boozy cupcakes(except for the darn cupcake cups!!!!  ARGH and darn them to the deepest fires of heck!).

Island Passion

For those of you who do not know, Passoa is a passion fruit liquor.  Very tasty.  I started out by soaking about 3/4 cup dried cranberries in about 1/2 cup of the liquor (thusly creating passionate cranberries) and about 14 cherries in about 1/4 cup of liquor (and passionate cherries).  These I left overnight in little plastic containers in my fridge, giving them a bit of a shake everytime I remembered.

    Undone cupcakes

   Look!  I found some halloween cupcake liners.  These’ll do!  And so the borracho cupcakes were made.

 

Borracho Cupcakes makes 24 cupcakes

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 cups self rising flour
  • 1/3 cup Passoa, drained from cranberries.
  • 1 tsp orange extract
  • 1tsp orange zest
  • 3/4 cup passionate cranberries
  1. Cream butter, oil and sugar until light and fluffy.
  2. Beat in one egg at a time, blending completely between each addition.
  3. Add extract and zest, mix well.
  4. Sift flour and alternate it’s addition with the liquor, beginning and ending with flour.
  5. Fold in cranberries.
  6. Pour into cupcake mold and bake at 350 F for 20-25 minutes.

baked cupcakes The recipe was adapted from a bizcocho borracho recipe in the cookbook Cocina Conmigo by Dora R. de Romano.  This is the 9th edition and it was published in 1976.  So the cake baking time was 1 hour, I had to guess when I scaled down the time, so I baked for 25 minutes.  It could have done with 5 minutes or more less.  The cranberries also sank to the bottom but it gave it such an amazing passion fruit liquor bite.  They were just incredible still hot from the oven (no, my mother and I could not wait for them to cool in order to try them!).  We thought these would make an amazing addition to a sort of brunch meal.  As they cooled, I took a stab at altering the orange frosting recipe I found.

Orange Passion Frosting

  • 4 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 2 tablespoons fresh orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons Passoa
  • 2 teaspoons grated orange zest
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  1. Soak orange zest with juice and liquor.  Add pinch of salt.
  2. Cream and soften butter.
  3. Add liquid, blend well.
  4. Sift in sugar and beat until desired consistency for spreading.  More orange juice may be added.

Complete cupcakes

Alright, so I was SO disappointed in this frosting.  It just didn’t come together, I was hoping for something lighter and it was just a muck.  I don’t know what happened… I was not a fan of it.  My mother liked it, but thought it could do with something better.  As it stands, this stab for Cupcake Hero glory will not be yet submitted.  That just means I need to remake the cake portion of this recipe and try out other frostings.  My friends have lined up to be my guinea pigs.  So I am very hopeful that in the coming week I can concoct a suitable frosting for this cupcake.  I think the fault of flavoring lies in the sheer amount of orange zest this recipe calls for.  Perhaps I may take it in another direction… pineapple also goes well with Passoa.  Stay tuned…

In the end: It has been unanimously decided that the cake portion of this experiment was a wonderful success.  More than one said it had the fruity fun appeal of fruit loops.  Considering I like the cereal, I’ll take it as a compliment… especially when it came from  my younger brother.  There isn’t much alcohol in it, and it doesn’t overwhelm.  Most of my tasters just loved it and just couldn’t identify much aside from that it had orange in it.  It’s alright, not a lot of people would assume passion fruit would end up in their cupcake.   

 

3 Responses to “A passionate cupcake hero in the making?”

  1. PS: The cherries are remaining in their drunken pool party until I perfect the frosting recipe. I think it won’t harm them any, will it? 😉

  2. I don’t want to be an impartial judge and dole out any advice but definitely stick with it and query some of your concerns online cause there are lots of ideas out there!
    I’m so pumped about your idea- it sounds delic. And cranberry/ orange is a pretty common match up but throwing in passion fruit too? Whohee! Can’t wait to try. I think I’ll start the hunt for Passoa now. Drunk cupcakes are my middle name sistah!

  3. Hiya TW! My concern when choosing the liquor was whether you and slushy would be able to find Passoa. I wanted to subject….*ahem* introduce another type of liquor than what I thought everyone else would go for.

    And the online research has already commenced! I’m collecting them all away in a file and, knowing me… I’ll probably go and make the frostings first individually before I pick the right one to spend all the work on (re)making the cupcakes for. I did what I could with the resources I had onhand while disconnected from the world. Now, it’s time for some serious baking business. Many are looking VERY promising.

    Oh the many drunken ideas running through my head!


Leave a Reply

