Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

Crouching Muffin, Drunken Cupcake February 8, 2008

square frosted cupcake

Behold the power of persistence!!!

I will finally surrender submit for your viewing pleasure, the Island Passion Cupcake in all it’s glory!  It took a week of much pondering, hunting and musing… and much failed attempts at making frosting and obtaining cooking supplies.  As my mother just stated just now when she called me to give her review (I’m staying the weekend near campus, but I managed to make and frost 9 cupcakes to send to my hometown via my aunt.  This way my family could taste them and give me their opinions) “I hope you wrote down that recipe, because you’ve got yourself a winner there.”  Allow me to break it down for you…

   Whipping up Borracho Cupcakes II Makes 16 cupcakes (what an odd number, I know!  But it was supposed to be a dozen since I halved the recipe… but I didn’t want to overfill the cups.  So, 16 was how many I ended up with)

  • 1/2 cup butter-flavored shortening
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp orange zest
  • 1 teaspoon orange extract
  • 1/6 cup + 3 teaspoons Passoa
  • 1 cup self-rising flour
  • 3/4 cup Passionate cranberries*
  1. Cream together shortening, sugar and 3 teaspoons of the liquor until light and fluffy.
  2. Mix in one egg at a time; blend in orange extraxt and fresh orange zest.
  3. Fold in remaining liquor and sift in flour.  Blend in half the cranberries and sprinkle the remaining cranberries onto each cup when they have been set into molds. 
  4. Bake at 350F for 20-25 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center of cupcake comes out clean.

* Passionate cranberries are made by placing 3/4 cup of dried cranberries in 1/2 cup Passoa and allowed to reconstitute for at least overnight.  The more days, the better.  I left mine in their alcohol baths for 4 days. 

unbaked cupcakes     Alright, so now they look like muffins.      baked cupcakes

But, they didn’t crack on top.  They are also wicked good straight from the oven.

baked round

And while an unfrosted cupcake is STILL a cupcake, these puppies needed a little something on top.  I hadn’t spent the week researching frosting for nothing!

Frosted cupcakes

Chunky Pineapple Passion Buttercream

  • 1/2 stick butter, softened
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pineapple juice
  • 2 tablespoons Passoa
  • 1/2 20oz. can crushed pineapple, drained
  1. Beat butter until creamy, slowly working in sifted sugar. 
  2. Slowly add liquid, one teaspoon or tablespoon at a time.
  3. Drain pineapple well and fold into mixture.
  4. Chill for half an hour. 
  5. Generously frost your cupcake.

cupcakes to-go Alright, so I was going to halve the passionate cherries to use as decoration.  However, I gave away most of my cupcakes before I remembered to put the cherries on them.  So the 7 cupcakes I had left got a whole cherry.  My housemate and I ended up with whole cherries as well.  (Can one get drunk off a cherry? wow-ee)

 set of cupcakes

Final Review: I’m actually REALLY tired of Passoa right about now but I think I attained the drink blend that I aspired to.  This newer cake blend seems so much lighter than the last and the frosting seemed like it really needed the pineapple.  The orange flavor highlighted the passion fruit and didn’t overpower it.  For this I am glad, it was my biggest pout inducer with my first batch.  That being said, these lovely little cupcakes give a refreshing zing to many a tropical fantasy.  While my mother disagrees with me, I think the alcohol could very easily be substituted for some passion fruit juice, something I am VERY fond of.  Overall, it was my quest for perfection that made this cupcake so much work.  I think I’m going to take a break on cupcakes for a few days and cook other things.  Luckily, I managed to give away most of the cupcakes I made today.  All the zombies got sent off to other parts of the island and my family received most of the patch of these.  I’ve heard no complaints.  However, I do advise caution when taking a bite of your passionate cherries.  Try not to just consume whole, they pack a whallop. 

trail of cupcakes

Island Passion Cupcakes

over and out!

 

10 Responses to “Crouching Muffin, Drunken Cupcake”

  1. JoytheBaker Says:

    Nice job with the challenge. I had never heard of Passoa before. You certainly worked it out in your cupcakes. Very creative! Bravo!

  2. slush Says:

    WOW! I have never heard of Passoa either, but Ill be on the lookout at the ABC. Fab job babe!

  3. lemontartlet Says:

    Those cupcakes could get you drunk at ten paces. Somewhere, a pirate is planning to raid you for your booty… errr… the cupcakes.

  4. scizor Says:

    I MUST try these as soon as I get back! If the first bath was any indication these should be perfection. 😀

  5. Joy: Hi! Thanks for checking out my entry. Seems very few people have heard of Passoa, but hopefully it will get everyone out there trying new things! It was a lot of fun.

    Slush: yay! you finally commented on my blog, I feel so special! Good thing I swept out and organized the place! I really do hope you manage to find some Passoa. It never occured to me that other places wouldn’t have it. I mean… I thought I lived in the hole where nothing exists.

    puptart: aye aye! But all the rum is gone! So lemme shiver them timbers and find a bottle of some yum!

    scizor: I’m hoping to save you at least one cupcake, so you better make here your first stop when you get back or else you might not get any!

  6. So on the lookout for Passoa! I love me some passion fruit and I have a feeling passionate cranberries would so be up my alley girlfriend~ Great job!!

  7. Carlos P Says:

    they where so deli, I want more , …. more, give me more

  8. Amanda Says:

    I was looking for something involving this liter bottle of Passoa my parents decided to buy on a cruise a couple years ago, AND I HAVE FOUND IT.

  9. […] nice and sugary and tasting of some fruit you can’t quite pinpoint. I had also come across this recipe, so I tried them out but the flavor reminded me more of a muffin, probably because of the […]

  10. […] nice and sugary and tasting of some fruit you can’t quite pinpoint. I had also come across this recipe, so I tried them out but the flavor reminded me more of a muffin, probably because of the […]


Leave a Reply

