Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

MacGuyvering cupcakes, one batch at a time February 8, 2008

Filed under: baking,Cupcake Hero,Recipes — bombshellwithin @ 7:46 PM
Tags: , , , ,

The impatient baker that I am, fed up with the silly oddessy to find cupcake cups, I threw my hands up in the air with resignation of finding cupcake baking pans.  This shouldn’t be this difficult!  These sorts of things are supposed to be easily found!  This fucking island is bass ackwards, I swear.  Since I’m waiting on a certain hunk to accept my offer of being a near mail order bride in order to get off this place, I guess I have to make do with what I have on hand.  Even if I have to overuse my precious cupcake liners and pull out some random pans in order to complete the challenge.  Cupcake Hero should just give me an honorary prize for being the most persistent through adversity. 

But, just in case my experiment went wrong, I decided to whip up a batch of  Drunken Zombie Cupcakes. There was no way in heck I was going to endanger my precious Island Passion Cupcakes in some cockamanee experiment.  So, the little zombies were just going to have to bravely be my guinea pigs.  I can hear y’all gasping in horror.  No!  She couldn’t have done those cupcakes without a pan!  Is she NUTS?!  Well, why yes… yes, I am.  I would say a decade living on the island has made me bass ackwards too.  Or… at the very least, very desperate.

unbaked zombies More or less, right?  I  held my breathe, didn’t touch them. baked zombies

Ha!  There is a god and he/she/it was watching my cupcakes.

They kinda look like biscuits in that picture, don’t they?

Drunken Zombie Cupcakes Makes 12 dozen

  • 1/2 cup butter-flavored shortening (like heck I was gonna use my precious butter on this when it could go horribly wrong!)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 teaspoons Passoa
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon orange extract
  • 1 cup self-rising flour
  • 1/6 cup Zombie
  1. Cream the shortening with the sugar and the Passoa.  Beat in one egg at a time.
  2. Mix in extract and Zombie. Sift in flour.
  3. Bake at 350F for 20 minutes.

frosted zombies I made the Orange Passion Buttercream into a glaze by adding a tablespoon of Zombie.  (At least I’m going to call it a glaze because my hand slipped in pouring the additional liquid and therefore came out more runny than I would have liked.  However, I could have fixed it with the addition of more powdered sugar.  I was not willing to spend so much energy since I was remaking the buttercream for my darling passionate cupcakes that were baking as I worked.)

frosted zombies 2

Final review: Pay no attention to the maniacally laughing woman who is pleased as punch for having successfully made cupcakes against all odds.  I was quite happy with my little zombies, more than I thought since I made them fully expecting them to fail.  They didn’t taste so great fresh out of the oven but I had to try them anyway.  My housemate tried the final frosted cupcake and loved them.  He said that the glaze worked well to counteract the balance of the light cake.  No, he really didn’t say precisely that, but that’s  my interpretation of what he said… so you’re just going to have to live with that.  The alcohol got baked off and the frosting didn’t seem boozy at all.  No taste like fruit loops here.  Overall, a wonderful success.  I found that it’s easier to bake them if they are more spaced apart and the cups don’t get filled too much.  There was at least one prettily round cupcake.  I was actually very fond of the square ones.  These I’m essentially giving them away and moving on to my next endeavor.

 

5 Responses to “MacGuyvering cupcakes, one batch at a time”

  1. oh my gosh~ you are just too damn funny! We’ll have to review the adversity standards in the code book me thinks. Ya know, I actually have drunken zombie memory. I was so desperate for a sushi partner that I conned my middle sister into going with me. I was bound and determined to convert her ass. Well she insisted on ordering the drunken zombie and uhm then ordered another cause she’s an even bigger lush than her big sister (which is probably hard to believe I know). Well anyways, let’s just say sushi is less enjoyable the second time. But I blame those damn drunken zombies!*
    *this incident will in way effect my judging of said inspired cupcakes or otherwise

  2. oh goodness, TW! I thought that was supposed to be how the classic tequila story went… not the zombie story! Well, no worries.. I don’t think I’m going to submit a zombie cupcake recipe. You don’t have to worry about it….

    Unless I decide to use the zombie in making pina colada cupcakes… and THEN maybe I just might!

    MWUAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHhahhahahahhaah!

    *ahem*

  3. scizor Says:

    Piña Colada cupcakes!? O.O I’m in! 😀

    *ahem* So yeah! The little zombies were a success here as well. My mom shoved one down so fast I only had time to see her fold the cupcake liner bfore throwing it into the trash can. I left 4 in the fridge last night (after I ate one) and now there’s only one left… 😦

  4. hmm, I meant to say~ will in NO way effect my judging. Geesh, and I haven’t even started drinking cupcakes yet!
    Would you believe Pina Colada cupcakes is actually a request from my little monkey??! HAH! I told her I’d have to wait until after this month in case someone comes up with one and I need to make them to test them. She had a pina colada (virgin of course) when we were in Puerto Rico and has been addicted ever since. Kids these days…

  5. Scizor: I loves you, but you’d eat just about anything I make. Heck, you don’t even like spinach and you came over wondering if I had any leftovers from the lasagna rolls just so you could try them!

    TW: Ah! So that’s what you meant! I was a bit confused. And you know… pina colada cupcakes have been on my mind since I began crafting the passoa cupcakes. Has no one made a submission for them yet? Well… there is still time before the deadline and I may come up with something. Since you can’t technically participate, I’ll just have to take your place as the crazy cupcake lady…

    Now… I just need some more cupcake cups…


Leave a Reply

