Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

Saturday Dinner February 10, 2008

Filed under: cooking,food,Random musings,Recipes — bombshellwithin @ 12:15 AM
Tags: , , ,

Finished pasta So maybe I went a little overboard with the mozarella cheese, but I couldn’t help it.  I wasn’t sure if it had enough, so I kept piling on top.  But… I’m getting ahead of myself.  This gooey saucey delight was dinner this evening: Spinach lasagna rolls. 

It all started out very simple.  I boiled 11 whole wheat lasagna sheets very carefully, cooking them for only about 8 minutes of their prescribed 10.  I laid them out on moistened paper towels as I sauteed one small onions, 3 scallions, 2 cloves of garlic and one bag of frozen spinach, thawed and drained.  Each one was sauteed until transluscent before the next addition.  Once the spinach was warmed, I added about half a cup of pasta water to it and one container of ricotta cheese.  This got stirred thoroughly with a quarter cup parmesan cheese.  Covered on low for 5 minutes and then turned off. 

When the food was settled enough to handle, I cut the strips in half and filled each side with approximately 2 tablespoons of the spinach mixuture.  These rolls were then arranged in a dish that had some sauce and mozeralla cheese laid out on the bottom.  The pie plate I used turned out to be too small for what I wanted it for.  The rolls ended up getting piled on top of one another.  Some more pasta sauce was poured on top and a mixture of parmesan and mozarella cheese was piled on top.  I baked this for about 20 minutes at like 400F.  I was sleepy and just let it go, but the right finish time is when the sauce bubbles and the cheese melts.   

finished plate

Final Review: This was SO good.  I’d been hankering for this idea since I saw something like it in a commercial on tv.  I added some green leaf lettuce on the side and called it a meal.  It truly was amazing.  This very easily serves 3-4 people.  Both my housemate and I ate our fill and we only managed to scoop out half the dish.  He’d never had spinach before and I was afraid he wasn’t going to like it.  Turns out he really loved it and thought it was just amazing.  It was nice to actually be cooking real food for a change.  Maybe I should do this more often.  If I make it… they will it eat. 

 

Leave a Reply

