Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

An attempt at biscuits February 11, 2008

Filed under: baking,food,Recipes — bombshellwithin @ 5:23 AM
Tags: , , ,

Most people who have known me long enough can attest to my extreme love for biscuits.  I really do adore them.  But my attempts at making them have not come out so well.  The only biscuits I seem capable of making are the buttermilk kind you pop out of a tube and bake.  For this attempt, I’m just going to go and blame my oven because I went and did everything perfectly!  At least, I think I did!  However…. they seem a little flat to me, literally! 

close cheese biscuit

Cheese Biscuits

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 3/4 cup grated cheese
  • 1 cup milk
  1. Sift together dry ingredients.
  2. Cut in shortening.
  3. Blend in cheese.
  4. Mix in milk until dough just comes together.  Drop out of bowl onto lightly floured surface and fold gently 8-10 times. 
  5. Smooth out and cut rounds.  Place in a baking pan with sides touching.
  6. Bake at 425F for 12-15 minutes.

Cheese Biscuits

Final Review: Alright, so am sure that this recipe is fabulous.  But, it just didn’t give me results.  The little disks were good… but I’m out of butter and they felt like they sort of needed some butter when they were hot fresh out of the oven.  My housemate thought they were good and couldn’t understand why I was disappointed.  My quest for the perfect biscuit continues!  Although, if it is my oven… then no recipe will be good enough.  I shall have to repeat this recipe when I am at my mother’s to see.

 

4 Responses to “An attempt at biscuits”

  1. theunsinkablekitten Says:

    guess who?! *smooshes* and yay! for bikkits..even if they are flat, lol 😛

  2. lemontartlet Says:

    They tasted really good didn’t they!

  3. kitten: yay! You dropped by! And yes… biscuits are love. Even the flat ones needed some loving too.

    puptart: They tasted best fresh out of the oven.. and the few “puffier” ones were the best. I polished them all off just the same.

  4. RachoThePsycho Says:

    I’m gonna whore myself out to you so I can get me some delish biccies!


Leave a Reply

