Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

A girl wanting flowers February 14, 2008

Filed under: Personal Interest,Random musings — bombshellwithin @ 1:42 AM
Tags: , , ,

It’s only appropriate that on the day before Vday, I write a melancholy little post about this sudden desire I have to receive flowers.  I suppose it’s all the banners flashing everywhere with beautiful bouquets of mixed flowers.  And usually I think I’m pretty good with never wanting anything.  I like to be surprised and I don’t like to make demands.  My entoned “I want!” in Wal-mart was more a silly request for a pretty little stuffed bunny which had me utterly delighted when Carlitos/scizor decided to gift it to me without hesitation.  But this… this is more, I suppose. 

I guess I’m craving the significance that comes with getting flowers; the sentiment, the emotion, the connection, the spark. 

No, I do not wish for roses.  I do not like them.

I believe the last time I got a flower it was a rose.  A yellow one.

From a friend, 2 Valentine’s ago.

Unless we’re counting these:

roses

From a long distance boyfriend.

Their picture was all I got.

There were flowers for my graduation from high school, a gorgeous basket with a plushie Honey puppy wearing a graduation cap from my family. 

There were flowers that fateful Valentine’s day after I broke up with my high school sweetheart… from another boy who had a deeply seated crush on me.

A dozen peach-pink roses.

And I cried for several hours because they were from my friend…

and not my ex-boyfriend.

I often joke about how I’d marry the man who knew to give me tulips…. red and yellow tulips.  I would love him forever, I think. 

But tulips cannot grow in Puerto Rico.

And neither can ivies.

The tropical heat does not agree with them.

Who could blame them?

So tomorrow I shall have my brave face on as I endure the campus full of flowers and the boys giving them.. and the girls who will receive them. 

Then I will endure a spell of time when it seems there are no lovely flowers around at all.

flower girl

And then I will wonder when my time for flowers will come…

 

4 Responses to “A girl wanting flowers”

  1. Bombshell this is why I do not do Valentines Day. I believe in giving flowers all year round and if you weren’t so far away you would receive them regularly from me.
    You, whose posts bring such a delight to my day, should not be thinking about flowers and who else is getting them. You are hugely deserving all year and what the hell is wrong with men there? Do your gay male friends know any straight guys you could be friends with? Any red blooded guy who is a friend of yours would give you flowers on Valentines Day or any other day for that matter. You are fabulous!!!xxxxx

  2. RachoThePsycho Says:

    Bah. I want enough roses to fill my garbage bin! Though I’m likely to actually keep a bunch of roses if the were black. Yeah, yeah..you know me. And if I was with you-no matter what set of genitals I’d have-1) I’d hand you an assortment of white lilies because: (*ahem* bare with me here)

    White lilies = Purity, modesty, virginity, majesty, it’s heavenly to be with you. The white lily is linked to Juno, the queen of the gods in Roman mythology, by the story that while nursing her son Hercules, some excess milk fell from the sky creating the group of stars we call the Milky Way, and lilies were created from what milk fell to the earth. The Easter lily is also known as the symbol of the Virgin Mary.

    Yeah I r ghey for you! Hehehe!

    2) Whilst handing you the lilies, I’d get a chance to have my wicked way with you.

    3) Tell you that you are indeed a special girl and you deserve a lot of good things in your life.

    4) Give you you last prezzie which would be some hunk willing to please and tease you. Tehe!

    Damn I shoulbe a Goddess. Y’all would love me being Teh Great and Powaful Racho!

  3. sam Says:

    i hope you get a bouquet today!

  4. MQ: I know… I was feeling all pouty when I wrote this. I guess I had to lament my single status. A year since I’d last gotten a kiss and such. I know it’s not usual to get flowers even in the normal context of dating, perhaps I’ve read too many romance novels.

    Rach: I already love you, oh Goddess and Great and Powaful Racho! If wishes were fishes…. and of course, if y’all knew my address, I do not doubt you’d be trying to send hunk my way.

    Sam: No bouquet for me… But I knew it and I’m okay with it. I’m ready to wait…. wait for my prince to come.


Leave a Reply

