Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

If you like pina coladas… February 24, 2008

Yes!  I have had that silly song running through my head this entire weekend.  It’s a good thing I like the song or else it’d be burning my brain already. 

pina colada

I couldn’t leave it well enough alone.  For someone who considered not submitting anything this month for Cupcake Hero, I sure as heck went about doing a lot of baking for it.  I couldn’t help myself!  As the resident tropical diva, I had to pull out another mixed drink confectionary.  For a while I thought that perhaps someone else would have come up with this kind of entry before for this month.  But some quick googling later, I didn’t seem to find anything from the usual cupcake suspects.  So, in a last stitch scramble before deadline, I whipped these up and prayed they were a success.

writing recipe

coconut beginnings Pina Colada Cupcakes makes 18 cupcakes rum addition

  • 1 1/2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 extra large eggs
  • 4 tsp. dark rum
  • 1 1/2 cup self-rising cake flour
  • 1/2 cup coconut cream
  • 1/2 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 1 can crushed pineapple, all liquid removed and drained
  1. Beat together butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  2. Mix in one egg at a time; blend well.
  3. Add cream of tartar and rum.  Alternate the addition of flour with the coconut cream.
  4. Drain can of crushed pineapple, saving half a cup of the juice for the frosting.  Fold in pineapple to the batter.pineapple
  5. Fill cups halfway and bake at 325F for 25-35 minutes, or until toothpick in the center of cupcake comes out clean.
  6. Cool in pan for 15 minutes before removing to racks to cool completely.

 

Banana Colada Frosting

  • 1/2 stick butter, softened
  • 1 banana, ripe and mashed
  • 1lb. powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons rum
  • 2 tablespoons pineapple juice
  • 3/4 cup shredded coconut
  1. Cream butter.
  2. Mash banana thoroughly with one tablespoon of rum.
  3. Beat together banana and butter.
  4. Slowly work in sifted sugar, halfway through adding the remaining liquid.
  5. Beat until thickened and fold in coconut. 
  6. Slather onto cupcakes appropriately.  Chill.

bunch of cupcakes

Final Review:  I actually really enjoyed these cupcakes.  It is still a little debatable to me if they actually taste like pina coladas. They sure do look like them though!  As you can see from the pictures, I topped them off with cherries.  I used left over passionate cherries (who I surmise are triply potent for having been lounging in their passoa liquor baths for this long) but any cherries will do to top it off.  I only wish I had had some paper umbrellas to add as a final touch to them for the pictures.  I also wish I’d had my cupcake holder thingy too.  But that’s in my hometown and I stayed this weekend.  Again, I had to work with what I had.  But, did you see?  I acquired some cupcake cups and they are the nice sturdy aluminum ones that really help me out since I’m still baking without cupcake pans.  I know, sad lot in life.  But, I am digressing.  I think the actual cupcakes are wonderfully delicious.  They have a nice pineapple bite with a distinct coconut after taste.  I have no had one frosted yet, but my housemate says its the frosting that makes this cupcake.  Albeit, he said I over frosted them.  But I just said that it’s because the cupcakes were just frosted and not chilled, that’s why the frosting was so soft.  Then again, I like gooey frosting.  In the end, I may have over frosted them because I was 2 cupcakes short from having eaten them before I got to making the frosting.  Either way, they seem like lovely little treats to have!  This time I didn’t go all out with the booze, so it’s just a fine taste and not a whallop like my Island Passion Cupcakes.  I’ll just call them a success and call it a month for the liquor portion of Cupcake Hero.

army of pina coladas

 

5 Responses to “If you like pina coladas…”

  1. scizor Says:

    ..nd they taste like grass! LOL Silly me. I liked them as well and it’s tasty goodness isdefinetly in the frosting. Could use a bit more of pineapple, but I’m afraid that would take away from the nice coconut flavor. Another success! 😀

  2. well my monkey is a pina colada freak so you dun good kiddo. Guess where she had her absolute favorite pina colada (virgin of course, what kind of mother do you think I am??) that she still raves about to.this.day.?? Well PR of course! no really.

  3. Scizor, I should officially kick your butt for saying they taste like grass.. seriously… OH-fficially give you a butt-whooping. The strange tinge were from the bananas which weren’t as deeply black and ripe as they needed to be. These weren’t the usual sort of banana. They still tasted damn good!

    TW: Thankies Thankies! And I adore pina coladas. I prefer them virgin too. I don’t know if these reek enough with alcohol.. but, they’ll do!

  4. I had no idea that cupcakes could be so ….grown up. By the way tagged you for a meme…7 weird facts about you…well we all know the cupcake one….then there’s the shoes….then the gay husbands….cannot wait to hear some really explosive stuff[pun intended]

  5. *giggles* Oh, I get it, MQ! I’m a ticking bomb(shell) waiting to happen! Maybe I should change my blog title?

    And my cupcakes are amateur childsplay when in comparison to some of the gorgeous things Tempered Woman, lemontartlet and CB do. But they were quite yummy. I’ve actually gotten around to eating 2 whole frosted ones.. and for me that’s not common. I suppose it’s because they are still in my fridge. Don’t seem to have anyone to give them away to and the housmate is savoring them one at a time.


Leave a Reply

