Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

Happy Birthday to me! March 18, 2008

Filed under: Life Events — bombshellwithin @ 8:47 AM

It is tradition in my house to give a wonderful homemade meal to the birthday person.  They get to eat whatever it is they want.  For me, my menu has been pretty constant. 

  • Roasted chicken or turkey (the past 2-3 years I’ve been on a turkey kick)
  • Cauliflower (my fave veggie of all time)
  • Creamed Spinach (my favorite food)
  • Potatoes (this is what I usually change out every year.  For a long while it was having the au-gratin, at one point I switched them out for baked mac & cheese but this year I wanted them baked in a certain way and the specifics were that I wanted them with lots of sour cream)

And since I am the Birthday girl Birthday girl 2

My wish was their command!

Dinner plate

Oh yeah….

It was….. amazingly delicious.

My grandma roasted up the turkey, my mother made the creamed spinach the day before and I made the potatoes the day of (hey, I wanted them, the recipe is too “complicated” for my grandmother and my mother had to work… so, if I wanted ’em, I had to roll my sleeves up for them).  But, seriously, that meal was just divine. 

Selecting what I wanted for my cake was a process not so simple.  My mother doesn’t really bake despite all she says.  So the cake was going to have to be bought.  But when asked what kind of cake, I said I really didn’t have a preference, just that chocolate cake can be tough because few places really make it delicious.  This seemed to cause such a conundrum with my mother as to which kind of cake she should get for me.  In the end she settled for a very simple and delectable tres leches cake.

tres leches cake

And, to go with it, I got a pint of this all for myself.

vanilla caramel brownie

(I did have to keep myself from eating it all at once)

birthday presents

My Birthday haul:

  • An adorable bunny basket, seen as that bunny in the pic that looks just like a stuffed bunny, but he’s a basket.  I decided to name him Peter.
  • A stuffed lamb who was wearing as a necklace a two tone heart bracelet
  • loads of mini milky way and rolos
  • $40
  • The usual shopping spree with my aunt valued at $100
  • A red leather carrying case for my camera
  • Mint green earbuds for my ipod
  • A fan cooling system for my laptop

Overall, a very good birthday.  🙂

 

 

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday to me!”

  1. Bob Says:

    I love the bunny…and the little stuffed animal too!

  2. Happy late birthday and sure looks like you had a good one.


Leave a Reply

