Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

Attack of the killer marshmallow March 28, 2008

Filed under: Cupcake Hero — bombshellwithin @ 11:11 PM
Tags:

So, I have been totally hooked to playing Super Smash Bros. Brawl on Wii.  And while I am not a big gamer, I do play now and again.  It so happens I’m a decent player too… and the guys hate me.  I beat their arses to a pulp with KIRBY!  A killer marshmallow! 

Kirby

Kirby Cupcakes Makes 2 dozen

(Adapted from Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake recipe)

2 1/4 cups cake flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
1 ¼ cups 1% milk
4 large egg whites
1 ½ cups sugar
1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
1 stick margarine, at room temperature
½ teaspoon pure orange extract

Strawberry Preserves

Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt.
Whisk together the milk and egg whites in a medium bowl.
Put the sugar and lemon zest in a mixer bowl or another large bowl and rub them together with your fingers until the sugar is moist and fragrant.
Add the butter and working with the paddle or whisk attachment, or with a hand mixer, beat at medium speed for a full 3 minutes, until the butter and sugar are very light.
Beat in the extract, then add one third of the flour mixture, still beating on medium speed.
Beat in half of the milk-egg mixture, then beat in half of the remaining dry ingredients until incorporated.
Add the rest of the milk and eggs beating until the batter is homogeneous, then add the last of the dry ingredients.
Finally, give the batter a good 2- minute beating to ensure that it is thoroughly mixed and well aerated.
Fill cupcake holders halfway with batter.
Spoon 1 teaspoon of strawberry preserves into the center of each cupcake.

unbaked cupcakes with strawberry

Bake at 350F for 25 minutes.

Killer marshmallow Frosting- Decoration

  • 1 stick margarine, softened
  • 1 7oz. jar marshmallow fluff
  • 1 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • red food coloring
  • blue food gel
  • red jelly beans, cut lengthwise

decorating cupcakes  So, you smooth on the pink frosting then have some fun drawing faces.  We had a mini party decorating them trying to see who could most make one that looked like Kirby.  Then you use the cut jelly beans to be the little Kirby sneakers.

kirbies

Final Review: I didn’t eat any of the cupcakes, so I have to rely solely on my gay posse to tell me what they thought.  They loved the cupcakes.  Like, seriously loved them.  For the first time my frosting came out way firm instead of squishy.  But the boys thought they were just fine.  Together with the light citrusy cake, the delightful strawberry innards and the fun Kirby designs, they were way fun to finish and eat.  I’ve decided this will be my Nerd entry as well.  Stay tuned as the Kirby’s go out in the world.  The pictures could have been better, but I was in a rush to get this out in time for the Cupcake Hero deadline. 

eating cupcake

 

8 Responses to “Attack of the killer marshmallow”

  1. CB Says:

    Those are so stinkin cute!! I have to show my brother and I know he’ll tell me to make him some too. haha

  2. What no booze? Have you not had time to stock up since you got back? These type of cupcakes sell for $5 each at my favourite Westfield coffee shop…..you could make a fortune on the side! So glad you are back..need my cupcake fix and this way no calories.

  3. CB: I know! The Kirbyness was just too adorable to pass up. Not very original with the cake and the frosting, but I think your brother will love it. The guys here all loved them. They also said the frosting was better the next day.. and they were eating it by the spoonfuls.

    MQ: No booze this month, the hooch was the ingredient last month. This month marshmallow, next month peanut butter dulce de leche. I wish I could make a pastry business but the people here are SO closeminded when it comes to food! It’s SO frustrating. My palate is too American by the local standards and that makes me an oddball. But, glad to be providing your bombshell and cupcake fix. I think I’m nearly all caught up. Be sure you read back thoroughly, there’s been a lot of backposting.

  4. Rachael Says:

    Aw man..if I become ghey do I automatically get those marshy cup cakes?

    I R GHEY FOR TEH MARSHMELLOWZ!

  5. Kristina Says:

    These are sooo precious! And pink! Good luck 🙂

  6. well i was going to say you definitely win the unique award in the lineup, but instead I think you and Bake n Destroy’s Cakespy should battle it out. Only one 2-stinkin-cute-pink-frosted-cupcake can reign supreme! 😉

  7. Beth G Says:

    What adorable cupcakes!! My husband and I play that game too and while I don’t really do video games (aside from a lil’ wii bowling) I am all about playing SmashBros. WITH KIRBY~ Kirby ROCKS!! :O)

  8. Rach, lovie, I know you r ghey 4 me, but I think you’d get a lot more than just these marshmallow cupcakes. I have a feeling you’d take full advantage and be having me bake all sorts of goodies for you.

    Kristina: Why thankies, dearie! I love their pinkness, it took lots of care to get them just the right shade!

    TW: I saw what you meant! I think the cakespy cupcake and my kirby ones should join forces and take over the world with their cuteness. I actually thought I wasn’t being very original. I mean, seriously, the connection was one I made nearly automatically! But seems everyone else tried for more sophisticated things.. I saw a lot of variations on ambrosia and fluffernutters. So am glad Kirby could stand apart. Although I’m sad that the other picture I send wasn’t used in the blog posting. 😦 It was way cuter, with all the Kirbies playing Wii.

    Beth G: Thank you! And yes, Kirby does rock! I mean, what a better character than one who cooks up it’s opponents in a huge pot?! Seriously! Fear the pink marshmallow, for it will bring smash DOOM!


Leave a Reply

