Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

DB- Dorie’s Perfect Party cake March 30, 2008

Filed under: baking,Daring Bakers,Recipes — bombshellwithin @ 7:39 AM

 pink db silhouette

I will have to be completely honest when I say that I was not impressed nor enthusiastic when I saw that Morven had picked the perfect party cake recipe from Dorie’s cookbook (I did, however, laugh maniacally since in my post last month I asked why they couldn’t have picked  light frothy cake for me to make on the first challenge.  Well, here it was).  I mean… after all the hard work and near psychological trauma that was learning how to make bread, this challenge didn’t seem challenging at all!  So, I just set it aside and plotted to make this cake for Easter.  Then I got the cookbook for my birthday and I sort of picked up a little steam.  But then I leafed through the book and my thought was this:

Of all the beautiful, beautiful recipes in this book, they picked that one?!”

I could see where the puptart had said long ago when she did her first TWD recipe and she felt it was all froufrou for not much at all.  I probably should have taken my blah attitude and copped out of making the silly cake.  Instead, I endeavored to just get through it.

The recipe for the actual cake can be found in my CH-marshmallow entry.  You see, what I did was this: I only had a 10in x 3in cake pan, not the 9in x 2in pan that the recipe prescribed.  So, I figured to make the batter twice.  I’d bake one cake with about 2/3 of the batter and the use the rest for the cupcakes.  Because I only had one cake pan, I really had no choice but to do it this way. 

  flat cake

Um…. they came out kinda flat.

I suspected that it was because of the flour.  I realized it was self-rising cake flour and not just regular cake flour as the true recipe suggests it should be.  I really didn’t have the time to redo the recipe, so my cake pancakes would just have to work.  I was planning on going on with the recipe no matter what. 

I used nearly half a cup of preserves between each layer and one batch of buttercream worked but it would have been better had I had more to work with.  I was supposed to finish off the cake with coconut or fresh berries.  However, there was no shredded coconut to be found anywhere and the fresh fruit was just too expensive for me to get.  So, I improvised on the decorating.  I had to finish it in 15 minutes because I was leaving to head to my apartment.  I wanted to pipe something pretty, but I seriously didn’t have the time. 

Easter cake

I used cookie cutters and stenciled on shapes with colored sugar.  It so happened that we had a bunny cutter.  So it worked in a pinch. 

For the Buttercream
1 cup sugar
4 large egg whites
3 sticks (12 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
¼ cup fresh lemon juice (from 2 large lemons)
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

To Make the Buttercream
Put the sugar and egg whites in a mixer bowl or another large heatproof bowl, fit the bowl over a plan of simmering water and whisk constantly, keeping the mixture over the heat, until it feels hot to the touch, about 3 minutes.
The sugar should be dissolved, and the mixture will look like shiny marshmallow cream.
Remove the bowl from the heat.
Working with the whisk attachment or with a hand mixer, beat the meringue on medium speed until it is cool, about 5 minutes.
Switch to the paddle attachment if you have one, and add the butter a stick at a time, beating until smooth.
Once all the butter is in, beat in the buttercream on medium-high speed until it is thick and very smooth, 6-10 minutes.
During this time the buttercream may curdle or separate – just keep beating and it will come together again.
On medium speed, gradually beat in the lemon juice, waiting until each addition is absorbed before adding more, and then the vanilla.
You should have a shiny smooth, velvety, pristine white buttercream. Press a piece of plastic against the surface of the buttercream and set aside briefly.

Final Review: I think that the only thing I liked was the buttercream recipe, and even then I’m using the term loosely.  I’d never made a swiss buttercream and the process was interesting.  My frosting didn’t come out quite white, but I think it’s because I might not have beat my egg whites as much as I had to in the beginning over the heat.  Aside from that, I’m not a big fan of frosting and I wasn’t a fan of this one.  I think the lemons I used were just too tart.  As for the cake itself, I didn’t get to have any of it.  I left it with my family as I raced out the door to cross the island.  I finally got to try one the cupcakes which I has left them all in the freezer until the time that I could make the marshmallow frosting for them.  I did not enjoy the citrus flavor of the cake and in fact I felt the cake was too sweet.  The cake itself was light though it did not rise.  It was interesting, I may wish to repeat this recipe the right way and hope my cake will eventually look even part as pretty as the image in the book. 

  Dorie’s book entry

I look forward to next month.

 

 

 

27 Responses to “DB- Dorie’s Perfect Party cake”

  1. Lucy V Says:

    Very cute stars and bunny!

  2. Joy Says:

    I like the glittery stars!

  3. CB Says:

    Cookie cutter and sugar. What a fun idea! Great job!
    Clara @ I♥food4thought

  4. Aisha Says:

    Very nice. I love the stenciled design. I think it helps to use white butter if possible to get the whitest buttercream.

  5. chriesi Says:

    It looks cute! Mine also did not rise much, but I had to use a bigger form.

  6. The cookies cutters were a good idea. Too bad you were not super impressed with the cake and the process to make it. There is always next month!

  7. maria~ Says:

    My cake didn’t rise much either, but I’m really not sure that it’s supposed to 🙂

  8. Jerry Says:

    Very cute! Very white!

  9. Sorry you didn’t enjoy the cake. The sparkles are fun on top.

  10. Hey cheer up…. your cake cooks cute. Mine did not rise much as well..but like your attitude..even though you were hard-pressed for time…. you did it. Thats the attitude of a Daring Baker. Look forward to see you for the next challenge.

  11. Lucy V: Thanks!

    Joy: They do look very glittery and pretty in the pic.

    CB: necessity is the mother of invention

    Aisha: most likely but I was sort of trying to save money by using what I had on hand.

    chriesi: The not rising part seems to have affected roughly half of the bakers I have seen.

    Gretchen: you win some, you lose some. I am looking forward to next month, though.

    maria: yeah, I’ve been getting the idea that it’s all the layering that makes the cake seem so tall.

    Jerry: Thanks though I attribute the white to the flash. It seemed off white to me, then again it could have been the very beige colors of my mother’s kitchen tinting it.

    MKIHC: They were, who knew left over red sugar would seem so much like glitter?

    Judith S: Indeed! DB does not demand perfection and indeed it’s all part of having fun and learning something new. That’s what I love about it.

  12. Rachael Says:

    Feck me! I just about ruined my heels by salivating too much! Makes note self: Must go badger Cliff to cook this!!

  13. Kevin Says:

    Your cake looks good! I was not able to get my cake to rise either…

  14. Chou Says:

    I tend to turn my flat cakes into trifle. IMHO it’s even better because then you can skip frosting and toss in some lovely pastry cream and then sigh in happy delight. I like your colored sugar decorations. 🙂

  15. texana Says:

    Congrats on finishing your DB Challenge! I think your result was very nice, considering the pans, lack of time, etc. Can hardly wait to see what the next challenge brings!
    Hugs, Texana

  16. Gabi Says:

    Fun sparkly sugar decorations!
    Nice job!
    xoxo
    Gabi

  17. carrie Says:

    I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with your cake results! Perhaps another Dorie recipe to make up for it? 🙂

  18. Jessica Says:

    nice cake. Well done

  19. JMom Says:

    I loved the frosting on this recipe too and will be using it again, I’m sure. I may have to work on cutting some of the butter down though 🙂

    I wish I had thought of using the cookie cutter for decoration! I made mine for Easter too, and just colored it chick yellow.

  20. Kelly-Jane Says:

    Well done with your cake! That’s such a good idea to use cookie cutters to stencil the top, great job 🙂

  21. jasmine Says:

    Good idea to use cookie cutters to form the sprinkly shapes 🙂

    j

  22. cookworm Says:

    Sorry to hear you ended up not liking the cake. The stars look really cute, though!

  23. Rach: You psycho, you’re always drooling. Doesn’t cliff feed you?

    Kevin: Thanks and such is the draw of the cake gods. Perhaps we’ll have better luck next time.

    Chou: I wish I had come up with the thought of pastry cream. I think I might have been more inspired with the cake if I had done that.

    Texana: thanks! One does what one can with what one can find. 😉

    Gabi: The sparkles seem to have been my single stroke of genius.

    Carrie: I’m looking through the book and am being very careful in deciding which will be my first official thing to bake. I’m leaning towards the lemon and poppy seed cakes.

    Jessica: thanks for dropping by! 🙂

    Jmom: I’d originally been thinking of taking the coconut and dying it green but I couldn’t find any!

    Kelly-jane: Thanks ever so much!

    Jasmine: I had some trouble controlling a bit of the sugar, but I was pressed for time and doing it with my fingers. I’m sure if I took my time the technique could be perfected!

    cookworm: Thanks, I probably should have put up more stars. But… there are more cakes to try and hopefully I’ll get to love one of them.

  24. Laurie Says:

    Sprinkling colored sugar in cookie cutters is a great idea..!
    Ciao,
    Laurie

  25. Kristen Says:

    I’m sorry that you didn’t like the cake. It looks good though. Hope this months challenge is more your thing!

  26. Tracy Says:

    I love the stencil idea. I’m going to try that sometime!!

  27. Kristina Says:

    At least is looks cute! Which is more than can be said for my disaster lol I’m totally going to get some cake stencils now 😀


Leave a Reply

