Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

Restaurant Review: Chalupas March 31, 2008

Filed under: Restaurant Review — bombshellwithin @ 8:40 PM

Located on the corner of the calle Gautier

Now that I stop to think about it, there aren’t very many mexican restaurants around these parts.  A lot of places have the “wraps” and there’s the Taco Maker and, of course, Taco Bell.  But when it comes to more variety of mexican food, only 2 places in town come to mind.  This one is located right in front of campus (the in front part being rather relative because I’m referring to the fact that it’s in front of a part of the perimeter fence that is my campus… and my campus is quite large) next to the tiendita Holsum. 

When it comes to local places, this joint is fairly new.  I’d say it’s only been open for the past 2 years, no more than 3.  It closes down in the summer when there are hardly any students around and it never opens on the weekends (I’m assuming because there are hardly any students then either because most travel to their hometowns then).  However, during the week it’s the perfect place to get a sizable platter with tacos or burritos, flautas or nachos.  They have combos for about $5 + tax which are a right bargain.  Their burritos are delicious and huge, and on a student budget, that makes the place infinitely attractive. 

My classic order is the Chalupa Burrito, which is this large burrito, covered in melted cheese and a bit of pico de gallo, lettuce and tomato are on one side, guacamole and sour cream dolloped on the edge, and a couple of nachos to the other side of the burrito.  As y’all know, I’m a huge fan of sour cream, so I always ask for some extra.  Then I go about mixing the salad with the guacamole and sour cream, but not before scooping up sour cream on my nachos and consuming them first.  Then I slice into the burrito (because you can’t pick that bad boy up) while smooshing on some of the guacamole salad with it.  It’s truly filling and divine. 

On past visits we’ve had the tacos and the flautas and also, I believe, the quesadillas and I can honestly say that I’ve never been disappointed with their offering.  The decor is colorful and they have small tables meant for two (moved together should you need more) with lovely mosaic designs in bright patterns.  The service is friendly and the food is made promptly.  Before the waiters used to hit up the tables, now you have to order at the counters.  Still, that’s not to bad because you get to just mellow out and watch some of the sports or music videos being played on a largish screen tv to one side. 

All in all, I always wonder why I never come to this place more.  I suppose on a whole I don’t eat out much.  It’s been recently that things have been so hectic and I haven’t been cooking or baking much for myself in order to post about it.  Hence why you may notice that there have been quite a few reviews lately.  Still, the place is a nice little gem which is worth a visit if you are in the area and in the mood for some tasty burritos. 

 

Leave a Reply

