Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

What the heck is Muztar?! April 3, 2008

Filed under: Rant — bombshellwithin @ 3:32 PM

muztar receipt

I finally got around to taking a picture of the receipt from when I went to Popeye’s last week.  You see, I ordered the strips and asked for Honey Mustard.  Of course, Puerto Ricans and their botched up spanglish decided to call it differently.  I mean, I can understand that the chain is an American institution and therefore the menu is supposed to be in English.  I would think that they’d prep their workers to know the menu in English and their Spanish equivalents. 

But NNNOOOoooooOOOOOOooo!

Instead I get a bass ackwards Spanglish reciept. Seriously, why not just put it in spanish?  Why did it have to be written into the register like that?!  Is it just me?!  Shouldn’t establishments worry about their image by spelling things correctly?  I mean, the little honey mustard tub thingy had it spelled right! 

 

4 Responses to “What the heck is Muztar?!”

  1. scizor1 Says:

    It still boggles me why the receipt has English and Spanish aaaaaall over the place with no distinct pattern. I have a Puerto Rican mind and even I don’t get it! Make the whole thing either English or Spanish, because Spanglish is only acceptable when talking to friends, your brain is fried, you’re drunk or a combination of any of the mentioned above. At least it amused us for a whole day!

  2. Rachael Says:

    Muztar-new ‘offensive’ word of the day. *cackles* People won’t know what hit them.

  3. Joey Troche Says:

    L0L @ muztar…dat is teh 1337!!!!!!!!1111!!!!!eleven!!

  4. scizor: true… but hilarity always ensues when you and I go out together. But yes, the engligh to spanish on the receipt makes now sense.

    Rach: Yes, we shall begin calling people “Muztar” heads.. and they’ll look at us like we’re nuts.

    Joey: I knew you’d get a kick out of it.


Leave a Reply

