Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

Freedom of bloggerly expression April 8, 2008

Filed under: Rant — bombshellwithin @ 2:14 AM

I think it’s actually very interesting how in the past 2 weeks on two separate blogs similar incidents have transpired.  Both were personal blogs… one was expressing outrage on a local event that went against a lot of the person’s beliefs.  The result was a comment very much insulting the person for what they expressed.  Another case was an incident where someone, known for their frank and honest commentary, remarked on a recent blogging event.  This also resulted in a commentary backlash. 

Now it seems I find myself in a somewhat similar position.  As most of you know, I have been writing my opinions on what has been happening on campus concering the construction of the highway access through the farm Alzamora.  All who read my blog understand that this was written amongst my regular recipe sharing, restaurant reviews, as well as other life events.  It wasn’t written as an official communication by way of my position on student council or the academic senate.  It’s all been written as Ivy, the leafy bombshell, all from the personal point of view and those who frequent my blog on a regular basis can tell the difference.  Especially when most of my beloved readers are located in other places of the world.  I think the only person who frequents my blog from island and campus (as of yesterday, at least)  is my gay hubby and he certainly doesn’t need to come here to know what I think on this subject and more.

It seems that there are a lot of people who can’t separate their personal opinions from that of their positions.  Or rather, there also seems to be quite a few people who think they can further their positions by posting pictures of others, photoshopping them and writing sarcastic messages… or using personal blogs, wrongly translating and paraphrasing their content, and proceeding to send it to everyone and their momma.  Honestly, what the heck is this world coming to?!  

I find no reason whatsoever to apologize for what I have written.  I have always been forthcoming about myself and I keep separate these aspects of my life.  It just so happens that all the baking and crafting that usually fills my blog entries has been interrupted by this!  If it were up to me, I’d be making cupcakes and calling it a day.  Instead, I am stuck in meetings and coordinating things.  It’s not fair to expect me not to make comment on here.  I do believe that we are all queens/kings of our bloggerly domains and can do such.  NEVER, and I do mean NEVER have I expressed that which I have written here to be the stance or the actions of student council or otherwise.  I speak only for myself and my small group of friends (and yes!  I do have friends and a life outside of my student leader obligations!) who do things with me.  You’ll see them on my other entries, if any of the people who came to attack me bothered to read them.  But they haven’t!  They read about 2 entries and called it a day! 

Why not read the one before this one where I lay it all out there?! 

Why not make commentary about the others?! 

Why suddenly pick a sentence and decide that that is all I have to say on the matter?! 

SERIOUSLY!  I have about 108 entries from about 3 months of blogging.  Do they really think I would use 2 paragraphs to explain my position?  I don’t think so!  I’ve been leaving a trail of my opinion for some time now.  Some of it before, during or after events as they have happened.  On a whole, a lot provides information as I remember.  Others just come up as I feel like talking about them.  I don’t talk about each and every single meeting I have or what we discuss there.  Heck, I don’t even think I’ve mentioned anyone from Student Council by name.  So where do they get it that I’m explaining the tactics used to bypass the majority’s (ie the students’ and therefore making a mockery of the process in which I, the VP *I*, have to remain neutral) decision!?  They must be reading someone else’s blogs because that doesn’t sound like me.   

Perhaps it’s a language thing.  I have written each and every single one of my entries in English.  A lot is lost in translation.  I am bilingual and I try to the best of my ability to express things in either language without losing the essence of what I am saying.  Anyone who is fully bilingual or is a poliglot (someone who speaks several languages) knows how hard this is to do.  However, this island is technically supposed to have both English and Spanish as it’s main language.  A lot of people should understand English, however I will admit that I do speak/write with a certain eloquency.  One of my favorite passtimes as a child was reading the thesaurus, no joke!  So, it’s my natural tendency to use the word prosaic before I say boring, to say “incite to action” than say “talked so they’d come”. 

Should I be at fault for the manner in which people decide to interpret my words? 

Should I be blamed for being blunt?

For saying things on a blog that a lot of people think…

but don’t dare lay out there?

 As it stands, there’s no way in heck I’m going to delete anything written, nor hide it away, nor try to soften anything I may write in the future.  I do not feel that I need to be controlled nor taught a lesson.  I simply wrote a few messages amongst all my other things; that seemed to have hit a sore spot.  And, quite honestly, I bet this won’t be the last of it.  There is no reason why I need to be fearful of what is said about me.  I’m not running for reelection.  This is it for me and, frankly, good riddance.  It’s been a wonderful learning experience but the politics this island seems to have just isn’t for me.

However, I do plan to continue writing on my blog.  I had a rough month but I managed to get caught up.  As soon as I am able, I will be trying out some recipes that I’ve been aching to get to. 

It just upsets me to think that people would stoop to such methods, ya know? 

Perhaps it was just foolish of me to think better of people… 

 

10 Responses to “Freedom of bloggerly expression”

  1. scizor1 Says:

    I’m honestly shocked. This whole situation is absolutely unnecessary and irrelevant to the issue! It’s baffling, really. *shakes head*

  2. CB Says:

    amen sister. You write what the fluck you want on *your* blog. This is not a blogocracy… You are the blogtactor of your blog. No explanation needed.

  3. CB Says:

    blogtactor=blogtator

    its way too early for me to be making up words! LOL

  4. colegial1214 Says:

    “I am bilingual and I try to the best of my ability… However, this island is technically supposed to have both English and Spanish as it’s main language. A lot of people should understand English, however I will admit that I do speak/write with a certain eloquency. One of my favorite passtimes as a child was reading the thesaurus, no joke!”

    Didn’t the thesaurus say that it is “eloquence, ” not “eloquency”? or that it is “pastimes,” not “passtimes”? anyways….

    I wonder if arrogance is also one of your best abilities. Or is it speaking with such despise toward your island and your people? I wise man once said: “those that are not proud of where they come from, are worthless, for they begin by despising themselves.” Remember that.

    Reading between the lines I can tell a lot about you. My conclusion is that your apparent arrogance is nothing else than your way of dealing with your extremely low self esteem. You may have fooled your readers into thinking that you’re a victim of the “evil left-wing students who desire chaos,” but you can’t fool your fellow students. We can tell that you and the rest of the student council are merely the administration’s pets, you DO NOT represent the interests of the student body (which was the task for which you were elected), you probably wanted the job just to have something nice to put in your résumés, and most of time know absolutely nothing about what your talking about.

    Why don’t you tell your readers all the mischievous actions the administration did to have their way in the construction? Why don’t you tell them how they hid the project from the students and the professors? Or how the administration alluded giving the students and professors the information they deserved? Why don’t you tell them how you and your student council did everything in your power to make obstacles for the struggle for the defense of our “finca,” in order to fulfill your primordial position (administration’s pets)? The saddest part is that you actually believe that you have the student’s interests at heart and that you did the right thing.

    You know I used to study in a school full of rich kids, in other words, full of spoiled little brats. Their attitudes totally despised me. I moved from that school and I truly thought that in the “colegio” I wouldn’t have to deal with too many spoiled little brats. Perhaps it was just foolish of me to think better of people…

  5. scizor1 Says:

    “Didn’t the thesaurus say that it is “eloquence, ” not “eloquency”? or that it is “pastimes,” not “passtimes”? anyways….

    I wonder if arrogance is also one of your best abilities.”

    For someone nitpicking at spellings to talk about arrogance says a lot. Oh, gotta love the irony.

    “Reading between the lines I can tell a lot about you. My conclusion is that your apparent arrogance is nothing else than your way of dealing with your extremely low self esteem. You may have fooled your readers into thinking that you’re a victim of the “evil left-wing students who desire chaos,” but you can’t fool your fellow students.”

    Why, of course! Reading a single blog post from someone will give insight into their life as a whole. What does the issue at hand have to do with having a low self esteem? Absolutely nothing! Also, in order to fool people there has to be a persuasive intention behind a message, and this is not the case here.

    “We can tell that you and the rest of the student council are merely the administration’s pets, you DO NOT represent the interests of the student body (which was the task for which you were elected), you probably wanted the job just to have something nice to put in your résumés, and most of time know absolutely nothing about what your talking about.”

    Of course. If you can’t have the GSC to your beck and call, they’re against you. Oh, and by the way, its “you’re” not “your”.

    “You know I used to study in a school full of rich kids, in other words, full of spoiled little brats. Their attitudes totally despised me. I moved from that school and I truly thought that in the “colegio” I wouldn’t have to deal with too many spoiled little brats. Perhaps it was just foolish of me to think better of people…”

    How is she a brat, again? Are you just rolling words out of your mouth just because?

    How easy it is to judge when standing on the sidelines, right? I’d like to see you walk a mile in her shows and see what you think of it. The nerve of some people. *shakes head*

  6. scizor: You and me both.

    CB: Understandable… perhaps some remnants of jetlag? But I like those words.. so, I declare myself as the blogtator of this fierce bombshell blog!

    colegial1214: I think the latter of the examples you put would perhape be classified as a typo. I would like to see how well you can type at such late hours of the night after withstanding so many hours of attack. It seems I’m not allowed to be human and err. I never realized, my apologies.

    Of course arrogance is up there. Did you not see how, on the entry before this I declared myself the blogtator of this bombshell blog? No? Well, I guess you’re missing out.

    I’ve also made it clear in many of my entries how I’m not native to this island. I am aware of my family and my heritage but that does not mean I have to like the way things work here nor how things are run. Or am I not allowed opinions either? No? Well, damn, where did I sign those away?

    Perhaps you are spending plenty of time reading between the lines and not enough time reading what’s actually written. I can be accused of many things, but low self esteem wouldn’t be one of them. Or have you not finished going through all my blog entries to analyze me? You haven’t?! You mean you’re not my newest best friend, completely privy to my thoughts and person?! I’m SO disappointed.

    My audience is not my fellow students, but instead the cooking/baking/crafting communities which I belong to. And shoot… I’m a pet of the administration?! I need to ask for a prettier collar or better fringe benefits.

    I’ve admitted that 2 years ago my reasons for joining may have been misguided. However, once elected to my position I have worked very hard. If this was merely filler for a resume, I would kick up my heels and do nothing. I wouldn’t have to withstand all the insults and insinuations.

    As for what I tell my readers, I have felt no need to enter into the full mismanagement of the administration. If anyone knows how fucked up they are and how terrible it is to try to work with them, it would be Student Council. You are correct in saying that I feel I have done everything I could for the student body.

    “Their attitudes totally despised me.” I’m a little confused as to your sentence. Did you despise them or they despised you? But, it does take one to recognize one.. but I never had the priviledge to study in a private school full of rich kids. I studied in the high school with the largest over-population rate on island (Yauco High, which back then was the only one.. you try studying somewhere which was made for 800 students but catered to over 2000). But since you know so much apparently you believe me to be one of those snobby ones who had life handed to them on a platter. I know all the struggles and hardships I face. If ever you wish to actually come to know that side of me, we can speak one on one.

    Finally, it seems we’ve come to a common point. We’re both disappointed with the state of affairs and the people around us. Everyone has their own crosses to bear.

    scizor: lovie, I adore you but it’s alright. I know what I have done and the obstacles I have faced and overcome. The same way some may come here to attack me, a lot have come to me personally to say how much they support my reasoning and actions 100%. In that case, it was nice to see how people didn’t hide behind keyboards and nicknames to say what was on their mind.

  7. Rachael Says:

    Oh shit-people are getting pissed because others don’t share the same opinion? Oh the shock and horror! Where did I miss the memo that everyone had to think and feel the same way about EVERYTHING?

    Jesu H. Christ. Grow up and grow a set of brass ‘uns while you’re at it.

  8. Joey Troche Says:

    This morning I got a call from my platoon sergeant. “Hey, the guy on CQ seems to have gone AWOL, I need you to cover a 24 hour shift.” I signed up for this. Yeah, I said it. I signed up for it. I’m a qualified Army Korean linguist, but presently my days are spent fetching mail, mowing lawns, and straightening out inventory lists. But F it, I signed up for it.

    Hey Ivy, government sucks. But that doesn’t mean you can’t have fun. A famous chaotic neutral player once said, “When all else fails, start a fire.” So everyone thinks you’re a pet? The students think you’re on the admin’s side? Go ahead. Be on the admin’s side. Be a suck up. You’d be surprised what info you can get out of people when they think you’re on their side. Switch it all around and destroy. “I’m not ashamed, you’re entertained, but I’m not a puppet, I am a grenade.” Basic military espionage strategy.

    People are going to nitpick, twist your words, and use them against you. It’s the nature of politics VS rhetoric. Fortunately for you, the best politicians are sucky linguists. Unfortunately, rhetoric has not been a part of the political process since the time of classical Greek democracy. It’s always going to be writer’s intent VS reader’s interrpretation. Forgive me, I’ve been drinking so I can’t really illustrate my point clearly. BTW it turns out I dind’t have to be on CQ today.

    Okay, my point. Kick ass. Take names. Buy a t-shirt showing off your kills. Have the Imperial March playing whenever you walk into a room. You’re in a position of power. Take advantage and sacrifice a pawn or three. Control the center and push the line. Your crane style is better than their tiger style. You stood up to take the responsibility, and that makes you better than everyone else. Le tthem talk. Talk is cheap. Start a fire and leave out the front door.

  9. Hi Ivy thought something was wrong with my new google reader so came here to check out any new posts or not as it seems. Really hope you are in the middle of exams and putting your all into that cause really that is what you are there for isn’t it? You worked hard in those conditions in that high school to get to where you are now. All other ventures at uni or high school are just asides to the main issue which is getting your degree.

    However I would say in my opinion, as a 52 year old woman who never had the opportunity to a degree course in her younger years, that you have graduated in the school of life. You have learned how to keep your dignity while withstanding abuse in all its forms and you have continued a dialogue with your persecutors. Bravo!

    To all who have persecuted Ivy, this is her personal blog where she has a great time and has brought her sense of fun into our homes and lives. Please before you attack a fellow human being consider that words can be the ultimate weapon, can haunt us for the rest of our lives and please get a global or at least a human perspective on life. There is so much to people that we are unaware of, your persecution of a lesser human being than Ivy could have led to drastic consequences and all for something that is insignificant in the grand scheme of things.

    And should you feel inclined to turn your wrath upon me, well I have been around real life issues a few years longer than you and would simply say to you …”get a life”. You are priviledged enough to have the opportunity to get an education and it seems are lucky enough to have freedom of speech. Please allow others to do the same.

    Please use your intellect and your humanity and consider what you have said and done.

  10. Rach: Seems we both missed the memo. But, it’s alright. As blogtator I have managed to clear off most of the offensive stuff. Some people don’t believe in censorship, but here I definitely felt it was necessary. Even then, I let some things pass through because I felt I could respond to them appropriately.

    Joey: I think I have managed a fine example of neutrality on this entire matter. But it seems too many have varying definition on what that should be. There was pressure from all sides, more than what people would guess. However, I didn’t buckle and so life goes on. And, I think if I had the speaker thingy to put my ipod nano on, I do think I might have some walking music. I think “Ladies and Gentlemen” by Saliva would make good entrance music.. and then the imperial march for just normal walking.

    MQ: I know I have not posted anything new. For a time I was just letting the negative traffic just tire itself out. Then I was really feeling disenchanted with blogging and couldn’t bring myself to write anything. I know I shouldn’t have let it get to me, but I’m only human. It did get to me and it left quite a nasty taste in my mouth. So, I had to wait a little bit to see if I could get my enthusiasm back. I had stuff to write about, in fact there’s quite a few of them trapped in back posting. However, I just couldn’t bring myself to press the button to publish them.

    Now, I’m going back and working on them. I hope to get everything up to date within the next few hours. So please stick with me while I back post. I’ll be sure to give the signal to warn when I’ve finally gotten it all up and I can just post as things happen. It will likely confuse your blog reader, if it shows up at all.

    And, to EVERYONE: Thanks for the input, the outrage, the support and the responses.


Leave a Reply

