Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

A girl who loves karaoke May 8, 2008

Filed under: Life Events,Random musings — bombshellwithin @ 3:12 AM

Now THERE’S an admission not many people would ever make in their lives.

Like, not ever.

But y’all already know that I’m not like anyone else, and I’m DEFINITELY not normal. 

Or at least I’d hope you’d realized this

after 4 months of blogging

And aren’t just being delusional about me.

I know I’m weird.  I’ve embraced it.  In fact, to let you in on a bigger secret:

I require no alcohol in order to do karaoke.

Oh yes!  I sing off-key, out-of-tune and just plain badly without liquid courage.  That’s not to say that while out at the bar I won’t have a drink or ten two.  But I don’t need to imbibe to be looser and relaxed and willing to make a fool of myself.  I can accomplish this all on my own, thankyouverymuch.

So when my dear friend Grace called me up yesterday evening and asked me to go out with her, and she told me how there was going to be karaoke at the place we’d be going, I knew I would be going. 

Now, I think y’all can tell that I’m not the typical college student.  I’m not some party girl who hits up the bars regularly.  (If I was then I think I’d have a lot more bar reviews than resturant ones.. although, since I’ve been to all of them in the 5 years I’ve been in college, I think I could write reviews anyways!) But tonight, I just knew that I needed to go and have some fun with Grace.  We never see one another and we hardly ever hang out anymore.  I remember a time when we’d always hang out and see one another daily.  But, that’s besides the point. 

I got all pretty and went on over to meet up with Gracie and her new boyfriend.  I’d never met him and I didn’t even know she was dating anyone.  I really need to pay more attention to FaceBook and the info my friends leave on there.  Either that or I need to get in the habit of calling certain of my friends out of the blue just to hear all about their lives.  (I always wonder why I don’t do that more often.)

So, how did the night turn out?

 

 

 

 

We had a rockin’ good time!

Heck yeah!

At first the boys were a little shy, so Grace and I warned up with

“Bitch” by Meredith Brooks and “Like a Virgin” by Madonna:

Yeah, we weren’t sure of the words.  Thank goodness for the words on that darn screen!

The boys eventually warmed up

ie: drank enough

We also had a VERY cute DJ who sang too:

We sang loads of cheesy songs and drank lots of rum and cokes, and we were the ONLY ones singing.  But you know what?  We really didn’t care.  When you have a kick-ass group, you don’t need anyone else to help you have a good time. 

Stay tuned for next week

After enough begging discussion, an even bigger group is hitting up the bar for karaoke.

 

 

One Response to “A girl who loves karaoke”

  1. Bob Says:

    Oh, my karaoke queen! What a darling 😉


Leave a Reply

