Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

How TW saved my cupcakes May 11, 2008

Filed under: baking,Recipes — bombshellwithin @ 3:42 PM

Alright, so maybe she didn’t SAVE them. I sort of saved them myself… but that doesn’t make for a very good title.

As it so happens, for Mother’s day I decided to make red velvet cupcakes. Out of all the cakes I make, I think red velvet is probably the favorite. So I try and make a lot of them. This time I think I may have overdone it.

The thing with my recipe of red velvet is that it doesn’t use cocoa powder (many may argue then that it isn’t really red velvet, but I don’t care! My gradmama can’t have chocolate because of bad kidneys) and I use vegetable oil and a couple teaspoons of vinegar. The latter making quite a lot of bubble when it acts with the baking soda. So when baking, you want to get your batter into the oven as soon as possible or it won’t lift up as it should. And let me tell you that this batter really does rise. I swear, it doubles in volume when baking. And because of the oil, you DEFINITELY do not want it sitting in a cupcake liner… getting it all oily and not looking so great.

So how did TW save my cupcakes? Well.. she gave me cupcake pans which I remembered to bring with me to my hometown, which were sorely needed as this recipe made me churn out a whopping amount of batter for an equivalent of 54 cupcakes!! With these extra pans I was able to bake them all up and not worry about deflate or greasy papers. Thank heavens for that. I’d been making bread for what felt like most of the weekend and just didn’t have the energy to be all too creative when it came to my cakes.

(I have admitted to being a VERY messy baker)

Oh, and the round tin was to use the rest of the batter

since I could only make 48 with the tins

and I still had enough batter for 6 more cupcakes.

I did CB proud, no batter gets left behind!

Red Velvet Cupcakes

  • 3 3/4 cups self rising flour
  • 2 tsps. baking soda
  • 2 tsps. vanilla
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/4 oil
  • 1 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 2 tsps. vinegar
  • 2 bottles red food dye
  1. Mix milk with cream of tartar and set aside.
  2. Beat sugar and oil until fluffy. Add eggs and continue to beat to maintain fluffiness to mixture.
  3. Add vanilla and baking soda. Blend together.
  4. Alternate milk and flour additions.
  5. Mix in food dye.
  6. Blend in vinegar.
  7. Divide into cupcake pans, not filling them more than halfway.
  8. Bake at 350F for 15-20 minutes.

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1 8oz. package cream cheese
  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1 lb. confectioner’s sugar
  • 2 tsps. meringue powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  1. Mix softened cream cheese and butter until fluffy and creamy.
  2. Add vanilla extract.
  3. Slowly beat in half of the sugar. Then add the merengue powder. Beat in the rest of the sugar.
  4. Cover lightly and chill for at least 2 hours.
  5. Frost cupcakes liberally.

Final Review: I accidentally spilled about half a bottle of vanilla extract into my cupcakes. I’d confused the new box of vanilla with the box that had the bottle of red dye. When I realized what was coming out of the bottle was the wrong color, I’d already tipped in about half of the damn bottle. Still, it seems that the cake came out delicious because my family was secretly wolfing down the cupcakes long before they were supposed to be served.

I also admit that I seem to really suck at frosting cupcakes. It’s so shameful to admit since I seem to post and be around so many amazing cupcake frosters! But, I tried!

My mom like them. She thought they looked like flowers.

I got tired and gave up piping frosting about a dozen in (hey! I was frosting cupcakes at 6am after NO sleep). So I switched using the straight icing spatula just to show CB that I could do that funny little swirl she was sobbing mentioning that she couldn’t do.

I’m rotten, arent I?

 

3 Responses to “How TW saved my cupcakes”

  1. Ha! I knew you hadn’t seen this, hence why I edited in to link you, CB, because you hadn’t commented. That’s the hazard of backposting and people who use readers, I guess.

    But still! You showoff your pretty piping swirlies all the time. Only fair.

  2. […] recipe is a little different from the one I made here, but these little adjustments seem to really help with the consistency of the […]


Leave a Reply

