Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

Mother’s Day Breakfast May 11, 2008

Filed under: food,Recipes — bombshellwithin @ 4:09 PM

Every year my aunt and I are the ones who pull together the meals for Mother’s Day. We usually just think about it and on the Friday I travel home, we compare notes and buy whatever ingredients we need. Lately, we’ve unofficially agreed that I’m in charge of breakfast and dessert while she’s in charge of the late lunch/early dinner. This usually has to do with the fact that I need to travel back to my apartment on that day and can’t deal with that meal and packing all at once. I tried it one year and just about lost it. So it’s just best if we both stick to our strengths (even though my aunt is reknowned for her ‘cooking’ which usually involves her phone and some take-out menu, she has mastered a few dishes which are really quite delicious).

As you have seen so far, I spent Friday evening baking the bread to go with my aunt’s meal. Yesterday I spent it on the brioche and cupcakes. I worked all through the night. By the time I was finished it was 7AM and I didn’t wish to sleep through breakfast. So I stayed awake and began breakfast at 8AM. The brioche was already made so I just had to worry about the frittata.

Spinach and ham egg white frittata

Serves 6

  • Sautee some diced white onion until transluscent.
  • Add about 10oz. defrosted spinach into the pan and mix.
  • When spinach is heated, add about 10 slices turkey ham.
  • Place mixture into the bottom of a square casserole pan.
  • Cover with sharp cheddar cheese, approx. 6 ounces.
  • Beat 12 egg whites with a hand mixer on medium speed until the mixture is white and fluffy. It shouldn’t reach soft peak stage.
  • Add a large dollop of the egg white mixture to 7 egg yolks which have been lightly beaten. Slowly fold together.
  • Add the lightened egg yolk mixture to the egg whites and fold gently together.
  • Smooth egg mixture over the rest in the casserole dish,
  • Bake at 400F until the top is golden brown and the egg foam has cooked thoroughly, approximately 20-25 minutes.

Final Review: This breakfast was a huge hit with the mother’s and everyone else. It was light and yet very filling. We’re huge fans of spinache, but because my grandmother cannot have anything with high levels of potassium, I actually made a small loaf pan for her with everything but the spinach. It was also very delicious. The bottom layer can be anything you want it to be so don’t be afraid to mix it up. The whites are super fluffy and you needn’t use so many of the yolks. I usually just use enough to show a slight yellow tinge to the mixture.

The funniest moment was when my grandfather took my elegant breakfast and just made it into a sandwich. Got to love the man. He did the same thing for dinner, where he shoved some of the meatballs into his french bread and consumed. I wonder if it’s from him that I get my love for sandwiches.

PS: Check back to last week because I did a backpost about going to karaoke. Don’t want any of you to miss any posts!

 

Leave a Reply

