Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

About cooking and other randomness June 24, 2009

Filed under: food,Random musings — bombshellwithin @ 5:24 PM

Can you believe that I’ve got a list of blog titles so to keep myself writing?  

Well, I do.  

And still I seem to manage to forget to blog!  

I think it had to do with the difficulty of putting up pics with my purse.  I’m on dial-up, so its dern near impossible to get things to upload (and don’t even get me started about how I can’t watch video on here unless I wish it to be an endeavor of 3 hours to wait for it to load).  With these difficulties, my blog posts will have to be more word heavy and less slideshow.  I’m not sure how I feel about that because I love speckling my entries with a random picture here and there.  However, I’m not the best photographer; so perhaps its for the best.  

Now, with that in mind, I’m working out a list of how I should lay out my days of the weeks and more consistently post.  I notice a lot of other blogs have themes.  Mine has always been an eclectic mix of baking, sewing, beauty, rants and reviews.  I have no intention of picking just one topic and blogging about that.  That’s not my life and it wouldn’t be my style.  

So I’m just going to pile it all on here and hope you can sort through the mess.

And perhaps even be a little entertained by it.

(Super Secret news: I’ll be churning out a writing series involving cooking and family. Tune in tomorrow for first installment.)

Meanwhile, I’ve moved so far away from the purpose of my original post that I almost hit PUBLISH on this thing without even getting to it.  

I’d meant to tell you all about how I’ve been cooking a lot more and baking a lot less.

Now you see, I have a work schedule that has 12 hour windows of availability.  My window is from 8am-8pm PST (which, when y’all in the States spring ahead with daylight savings time, it’s the equivalent of 11am-11pm for me) and, while I have a preference set to work at the beginning of this window, my time can be shifted around in between with the 9hr block of work schedule that I have.  Its 9 hours because they divide up my hour day to allow me an hour break(unpaid) and two 15min breaks(paid) throughout the day.  

Since I work in my pjs from the comfort of my own room, I don’t have to worry too much about my meals.  I just hit the fridge for all my meals and snacks in between.  But with only an hour for dinner, it doesn’t allow for too much time to make anything spectacular.  My hours rarely coincide with my mother’s Mon-Wed since she has a typical work week of Mon-Fri.  Meanwhile I work Sat-Wed.  So our respective days off are different and on those days, we each take the task of ensuring the other has a nice home-cooked dinner.  

As some who follow my tweets have noticed, I’m a girl who scampers about doing her errands on Thursday and Friday, then comes home to rustle up something delicious.  Sometimes I just throw some chicken and potatoes into the oven and call it dinner.  Other times I take the time and effort to pull together a delicious pot pie.  I usually don’t plan my menus while my mother has what she will make over the weekend all planned out by Friday.  My style of cooking has always been to just work with what I have on hand.  I joke that I often just wait for the food to speak to me (no cracks about this one, please) but it seems to work.  I can pull a cohesive and delicious meal from a pantry that seems to have nothing edible (as my sis in law can well attest to).  

While I don’t think I actually use recipes when cooking, I do search on Slashfood/AOL recipes for something that will inspire me to work with what I have on hand.  

DSCN0214 [Desktop Resolution]Her name might be Cow, but she is neither steak nor beef.

That is what I tell her every time she tries to come up on the counter to help me cook.

I feel as if this post would be quite empty if I did not include some sort of recipe, I will include two.  One is for the way I happen to like to have my oatmeal most mornings and the other is for a turkey breast I made last week (mostly impressive because my mother came home with the turkey breast and proceeded to look at me like “Well, what are you going to make with it?”, so I had to pull something out of my recipe McGuyvering (sp?) hat).

Cinnamon- Brown Sugar Oatmeal

single serving

  • 1 cup low-fat milk
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup  and a pinch Quick Cooking Oats 
  1. In a small saucepan place milk with everything but the oatmeal over medium-high heat.  Stir to ensure cinnamon gets blended completely.
  2. When mixture begins to foam, pour in oats and lower heat to medium.  
  3. Stir until mixture begins to bubble all gloopily (aprox. 5-6min).
  4. Cover while you get the spoon and bowl, allowing to rest for a minute or two. 
  5. Serve and enjoy! I usually have mine with some sliced bananas under the oatmeal, my lil bro likes it with chocolate syrup and my mom likes to sprinkle it with raisins.  So you can add anything you like with it or have it alone!

 

Herb Cordon Bleu Stuffed Turkey Breast

serving: 4-6 (depends how hungry they are)

 

  • 3lb turkey breast (skinless, boneless. Mine had a bone and I pulled it out and boiled it up for stock)
  • 1/2 cup low-fat mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 3oz smoked ham, cubed
  • salt
  • garlic & herb seasoning (mine was from McCormick but you can use fresh if you have them)
  • cotton string (I stole the one my grandma uses to tie pasteles)

 

  1. Pre-heat oven to 325F.
  2. Lay out some plastic wrap to cover your work surface and lay out the turkey breast. Cover with another layer of plastic wrap and then pound them until they are a more even and expanded surface area. (I took out all my aggressions and used the back of our cast iron skillet pan.  Its sturdy and heavy and just felt right for the job.)
  3. Once done bashing, remove upper layer of plastic wrap and lay out about 24″ of the cotton strings under the turkey breasts.  Arrange the breasts so that lengthwise is facing you, then sprinkle with just a hint of salt.  Liberally shake on the garlic/herb concoction and rub into the meat. 
  4. Arrange the ham amongst the surface, then sprinkle the cheese.  Leave about half an inch of border from the edge of the meat to keep things neat. 
  5. Use bottom layer of plastic wrap to assist in rolling the turkey breast together and tying it off.  Tuck in the outside corners for a neat roll.  
  6. Place on a roasting pan with just enough turkey stock to barely cover the bottom of the pan.
  7. Bake for 75-90 min until outside is deliciously golden brown.  
  8. Turn off oven and allow to rest for 10min before carving since there is cheese inside and you want it and the juices to settle before serving.
  9. Eat and enjoy! I served this with some doctored stuffing from a canister (meaning I added lots of sauteed minced up veggies and used the turkey stock) and french cut green beans(from a can).  I used the remaining turkey stock by making it into a gravy (bringing it to a boil, seasoning it, a dash of browning sauce and 2tbsp cornstarch mixed with 1/4cup water until perfect consistency).  
 

Leave a Reply

