Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

A girl having technical difficulties November 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bombshellwithin @ 3:27 PM

Goodness! I always promise myself that when I get caught up on my blog that I will keep it up. But then a week goes by and I don’t post. That is when I promise myself that I will catch up that week. I knew what I was going to write, all I needed to do was sit and actually write. Then another day passes and I swear that tomorrow will be the day I will sit and write. Days turn to weeks, weeks turn to months. And with everyday I feel worse for slacking. What could I write to make up for it? What excuse did I have for not writing a few words?

Nothing ever sounds grand enough to explain my absence. And its not like I didn’t have anything to write and blog about. I started studying pastry and I have made so many delicious naked goods! For the first term I didn’t feel challenged enough. I told my mom that all I learned was how to use a scoop. Doesn’t that sound sad?

It turned out that even though I was part of the half of the class without previous culinary studies, I ended up being the one with the most personal experience. I have been baking since I was 8, afterall. Not to mention that I have a passion for food. Add that to the fact that I was relaxed and saw this course as a way to pass my next year, it all came very naturally. Now with breads and doughs, my arms and elbows hurt but I’m finally feeling the challenge.

But all that isn’t even why I finally decided to post on my blog. In fact, it was my sister in law that wanted me to take part of National Novel Writing Month now in November. I thought she had been referring to National Blog Posting Month. The first event is a writing challege where you have to write 50,000 words in the month of November. A group of friends decided that we should use it to write. We were all, for various reasons, too caught up in our own heads and not actually writing like we felt we should be. With NaNoWriMo, it would give us a fun way to worry about getting a novel done relatively quickly, then worry about editing later. I have so many stories in my head. This would be the perfect way for me to let words pour from my head, down my fingertips and up onto the screen.

As for National Blog Posting Month, I think that is pretty self explanatory! I needed a reason to just jump right back into blogging. So I signed up my blog a few days ago. But would you know it?! My internet isn’t working at home! I was sure that I was going to fail before I could even begin this challenge. However, luckily for me wordpress allows you to post to your blog via email. I will give it a try. Tomorrow I can use the mobile wordpress application. The important thing is to write and try to make the daily commitment to share. In my case, I will share my usual wife variety of stories and projects.

Wish me luck with NaNoWriMo and NaBloPoMo! November is looking to be a very wordy month… To say the least.

 

One Response to “A girl having technical difficulties”

  1. CB Says:

    Good luck to us both! Props re: NaNoWriMo and NaBloPoMo. Someday I’ll have to try the former but for now I’ll stick to my BloPo. (Did that sound dirty? HA!) 1 day down… 29 more to go. We can do iiiiiiiiiiiiiiit!


Leave a Reply

