Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

a day in the life of this pastry student November 9, 2009

Filed under: baking,food,Recipes — bombshellwithin @ 3:37 PM

My days start at 6am. I wake up after having hit the snooze button at least 2 or 3 times. I get dressed and wear my chef uniform. No need for makeup and all I do is twist my hair up into a low bun we are out the door no later than 6:40am or whatever time I have finished packing the lunch bag for myself and my mother.

We then arrive to school sometime around 7:30am or whatever time we have finished getting the 20oz cup of café mocha from Walgreens (don’t judge, but the closest Starbucks is 2 hours away). I then make some instant oatmeal in the microwave at my mother’s office. The secret is to nuke it in increments of 60, 25, 20, 15 & 10sec. After that, believe me when I tell you that I take my time slowly eating my oatmeal. I am often late to class even though all I have to do is go down a flight of stairs to reach my classroom. But at least I make it there in time to slip on my skill cap and tie on my bistro length apron before the real work starts.

Over the span of 5 hours we plow through theoretical material as well as get our hands dirty. Today, for example, we made bread by hand and decided to make crepes. I was not very impressed with the latter so I won’t share the recipe but the stack of crepes we made will be shown below. They tasted yummy, by the way, when we ate them with whipped cream.

Meanwhile, this bread dough was just amazing! The rolls came out so light and soft. I recommend everyone make these! The average yield of this recipe is about 17-2ounce rolls.

So let’s see if I can summarize the whole bread making process for you. Maybe in the next day or two I might write out a lesson in the basic steps in bread making, so that no matter what bread recipe you come across, you will always know how to form the perfect dough.

Egg bread rolls
– 9 1/2 oz water
– 3/4 oz Yeast
– 1lb 5oz bread flour
– 2t salt
-2 oz sugar
– 1oz milk
– 1oz butter
– 1oz shortening
– 1 large egg

1- proof yeast in water with a few pinches of the sugar.

2- make a well of the dry ingredients and cream the days with the sugar with the palm of your hand. Blend all wet ingredients in center.

3- slowly incorporate flower by working fingers around the well until the consistency thickens and you can incorporate flour. You can take your time with this step as it helps for the flour to become hydratef before kneading.

4- knead the dough for 5-10min until it comes together in a smooth ball.

5- place on a floured baking sheet, flour too and loosely place plastic wrap over. Allow to rise until double in size, approximately 1hr.

6- punch down and round the dough, place back on floured baking sheet, with loose covering of plastic wrap and allow to rise again for approximately 30min.

7- divide into 2oz portions or approximately 16 balls. Fold each portion until smooth then round by making counter clockwise circles under cupped palm of hand.

8- allow balls to rise again for 20-30min or until double in size.

9- brush with an eggwash and sprinkle with sesame or poppy seeds as desired.

10- Bake at 400 F for 20min or until bottoms are a golden brown.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

