Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

An almost sugar-free cake November 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bombshellwithin @ 8:11 PM

In my house (or rather, in between both houses) there are all sorts of special diets that need to be observed.  My grandfather and mother are diabetic, my aunt has thyroid problems and my grandmother has renal problems.  Not to mention all the high blood pressure, low blood pressure and high cholesterol that seems to abound all over the place.  So whenever there is an occasion, if one thing can’t be divined that will suit everyone, more than one thing will be made.  For example, on my aunt’s birthday, I made chocolate cake.  My grandmother cannot have chocolate and, therefore, I made some simple vanilla cupcakes.  I should have made them sugar-free but I’m a food purist… and I’m sorry, not matter what the commercials say, Splenda does not taste like the real thing.  Not to mention that it ruins the integrity of the actual baked product.  You have to make adjustments.  Sugar on its own, is a softener.  By substituting it with some other non-sugar sweetener, it becomes something else.  

The one thing, however, that I will make that turns out fairly delicious as a sugar-free alternative is carrot cake.  My grandmother can have carrots.  While I have yet to accept Splenda as a substitute for confectioner’s sugar, the cream cheese icing remained in its sugar filled state.  So the end product was low-sugar (if you can call a pound of the stuff in the icing recipe as low in sugar), at the very least.  The clincher is, this would have been an easy cake to make for my grandmother.  She can have sugar.  In fact, she can have most things used in pastry.  As long as the cake had no chocolate, nuts or raisins she could eat it.  But as much as she argues with my grandfather, she refused for me to make her cake unless it was low-sugar.  

And because the birthday person always gets what they want…

This leafy bombshell made what her grandmother commanded.

 

DSCN1897

She was touched, in fact she got teary eyed when we sang her happy bday

DSCN1898

I really need to remember to turn cake slices upright for better presentation

 Sugar-Free Carrot Cake

  • 1 stick butter
  • 2 cups Splenda
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3-4 cups shredded carrot
  1. Blend softened butter with Splenda.  
  2. Add all the seasonings and leaveners.
  3. Add flour and carrot then slowly blend in one egg at a time.  The batter will be quite thick.    
  4. Bake at 325 F for 40-50 min if in a single 8″ round or 20-30min if halved into two thinner layers of 8″.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

