Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

my homework & tests November 17, 2009

Filed under: baking,food,Recipes — bombshellwithin @ 2:03 PM

My homework is never like the usual sort. For the first month or so, my homeowrk consisted of going to the supermarket and the baking supply shop to check prices. I would wander the aisles with my notebook, jotting down numbers and quantities as I went. It felt like a big joke.

The second month my homework consisted of breaking down recipes in accordance to cost. I would intentionally rifle through my cookbooks and pick the recipe with the longest ingredients list. Then all those price listings were out to work with the aid of a calculator. I would calculate precisely, down to the last eighth of a teaspoon how much the recipe would cost to make. Then it would be divided per cookie or slice. Only then would I then know how much ut would cost to the consumer at a considerable markup.

My first term in pastry was a lot of theory. This second term has been anything but! My exams have become actual recipes redone for a grade.

Yesterday we concluded our class on bread. After pounds of yeast and what has felt like tons of flour, we get to move on. It does not mean that I won’t still be perpetually covered in flour. We started a class on cakes today, in fact.

This is the recipe I did for my final. It was my favorite roll recipe that we made in the course. You can do it like the egg bread roll recipe I shared last week but I will try to simplify the process for the home baker.

Soft rolls
– 12 1/2 oz water
– 1/2 tablespoon yeast
– 1 1/2 pounds bread flour
-2 teaspoons salt
– 2oz sugar
– 1oz powdered milk
– 1oz shortening
– 1oz butter

1- Proof warm water with yeast with a few pinches of the sugar.

2- Place all ingredients in mixer with bread hook. Cut butter and shortening into smaller pieces and turn mixer onto low speed to blend.

3- Add water and allow to mix until dough forms into a ball on the hook and comes cleanly off the sides of the bowl. It should feel soft and look smooth and white.

4- set on floured baking sheet and cover loosely until has doubled in size. Approximately 1 1/2 hours.

5- Collect dough and give a knead to remove air bubbles. Portion into 2oz balls. Makes approximately 19- 20 balls.

6- allow rolls to rise again for at least 30min. Brush with an egg wash.

7- Bake at 400F for 20-25 min or until a rich golden color. Check bottoms of rolls to ensure that it has colored. Because of the eggwash, tops will brown faster and to a deeper shade.

Enjoy! <div class="wp-caption alignnone" style="width: 650px"i think the look sort of like eggs

i think the look sort of like eggs

 

One Response to “my homework & tests”

  1. CorLeonis15 Says:

    Those look scrumptious. And shiny!


Leave a Reply

 
