Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

A bit of personal piping April 11, 2010

Filed under: Final product,food,Personal Interest — bombshellwithin @ 2:20 PM

As I’ve not been doing anything blogworthy, I’ve been entertaining myself pulling from the bombshell picture archives.  There have sadly been many events that have not been recorded due to lack of insight or lack of hands to take a wonderful picture.

I realized today that I showed this picture and didn’t show the back story on some of the decorations.

You see, over the past few weeks months I have been trying to refine my own handling of the piping bag outside of school.  My first attempt was just borders and random designs.  I really just wanted to see what a set of much forgotten tips did.

As my previous experiences with royal icing failed, I went with meringue.

And y’all have seen my failure with buttercream, so meringue was the obvious choice too.

A bit of meringue practice

I made vanilla cupcakes and just had it with different colored meringue.

A whole lotta them

No two cupcakes were alike

But for the longest time I had thoughts of piping pretty little flowers.

I blame all the cake challenges I watch on TV.

With the confidence gained by having the Cake Bible and no recipe failing me yet, I thought I would kick it with some royal icing.

I used this recipe:

Royal Icing

  • 1 1/3 cup confectioner’s sugar (NOT sifted)
  • 1 large egg white
  1. Mix on low speed until sugar is humid.  Place on high speed for 5-7min until mixture is glossy, fluffy and soft peaks. (It takes exactly 5min of mixing for me.)
  2. If adding color, add and mix on medium speed until evenly distributed.

This recipe is perfect to fill ONE piping bag.

I find it best to do small batches at a time as this can dry out or stiffen before it can be used up.

This works perfectly if you’re working several colors.

Which is what I did.

First shaky attempt
I worked with pink first.
Second, somewhat better attempt

I felt the second batch white and I think I really got into my rosing stride with these.

Glorious attempt

The third & final batch was a lovely shade of purple and I feel I finally got them nice a pretty.

And then another weekend I made these:

Five petal flowers that are a lot harder than they looked

I'm not sure what type of flower these are but I used colorful circle sprinkles for their centers.

Believe it or not, I found the smaller flowers to be way harder than the roses.  It was very difficult to swirl on the fifth petal as evenly as the other four.  But I had a lot of fun overall with this.  I left them out to dry for the rest of the afternoon and most of the evening.  Its very important not to make these on a humid day as they really will be too soft to store.  When they are nice and hard, set them in an airtight container.  They will last forever as long as they don’t break.

I’m hoping not to test that theory.

They will find a cake or cupcake to land upon soon.

I promise.

 

2 Responses to “A bit of personal piping”

  1. zarishi Says:

    Honestly you should send me a care package with all those delicious things you have made 😀

  2. Mick Says:

    They all look scrumptious and so artful! Aren’t those last one’s daisies?


Leave a Reply

