Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

New socks along the way April 12, 2010

Filed under: Random musings,socks — bombshellwithin @ 7:43 PM

I have professed a love for socks and hosiery a couple of times along my blog.  So while I tweak and perfect a recipe for a parfait that I’m hounding surveying everyone on my Twitter, I thought I would share a picture of a trio of beauties I purchased late January.

The ones I wanted most of all

Pale blue w/ brown toe & upper band detail; cherry blossom design knee socks

The softest socks I own

Olive green B.ella knee socks with multi color stripes

An added order of socksiness

Beige & Black striped thigh hi stockings with black bow detail at top

PS: If you are wondering what my Twitter query is, or just plain wondering why I’m asking in the first place, the answer is this: We have a new pastry chef professor who will only be giving us class for a total of 6 days.  By Wednesday we have present recipes and a drawn design of a dessert we will make next Monday.  I chose a parfait because ever since I saw the lovely layering of these creamy lemon square crumb beauties I knew I would want to make them.  With it, I thought and thought and decided that a honey mousse would be a lovely counterpart to this to help with my layering effect.  I felt I needed some color however and thought a raspberry infusion to the honey would help tint the mousse and an extra touch of flavor.  And because I can’t leave well enough alone, one of the honey mousse recipes I read gave an optional recommendation of folding chopped pecans into it.  With that in mind, I thought maybe cinnamon roasted pecans would be a lovely complement as a sort of garnish.  Maybe a sort of teepee of them on top with a finely crushed layer somewhere in the middle of this parfait?

What do you think?

Does it seem impressive and tasty?

I need to make a final decision by tomorrow, not to mention I need to size things up and down, plus pick the right vessel for this lovely parfait.  So, opinions are welcome. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

