Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

The lemon-honeyberry parfait April 20, 2010

Filed under: baking,Final product,food,Recipes — bombshellwithin @ 7:31 PM

Just so you know, I layered the parfait thusly (from bottom to top):

mousse

lemon crumb circle

mousse

lemon crumb circle

mousse in a swirl peak

3 candied peels on top

Alright!

So, I know I linked these recipes before and I’m including the recipes as I took them in, how I ended up making them and a final recommendation at the end of each one.

Here we go!

Creamy Lemon Crumb Squares (recipe borrowed from The Pioneer Woman)

  • 1-⅓ cup All-purpose Flour
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1 stick (1/2 Cup) Butter, Slightly Softened (I used 4 ounces unsalted butter)
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar (lightly Packed) (I used light brown sugar)
  • 1 cup Oats
  • 1 can (14 Ounce) Sweetened Condensed Milk
  • ½ cups Lemon Juice
  • Zest Of 1 Lemon (What people consider to be lemons here are actually limes. So I used a lime zest, actually)

PREHEAT OVEN TO 350 DEGREES.

Mix butter and brown sugar until well combined.

Sift together flour, salt, and baking powder.

Add oats and flour to butter/sugar mixture and mix to combine.

Press half of crumb mixture into the bottom of an 8 x 11 inch pan. (I used a 8inch round cake pan)

Mix together condensed milk, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Spread onto the bottom layer of the crumb mixture. Top with the other half of the crumb mixture, but don’t press.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until golden brown. (Mine came out closer to the just under the 20min mark)

Allow pan to sit on counter for 30 minutes after baking. Cut into squares and refrigerate for a couple of hours or until cool.  (I was unable to do this part, so I used a 3inch round cutter and lifted out with a wide offset spatula and set the crumb pieces one  a separate plate in the fridge.)

Serve cool.

As this was the main source of inspiration in creating this layered confection, I made the recipe as close to what is listed above except for the little adjustments I had to make due to what I had on hand.  The mixture was rather dry, so I would recommend perhaps removing the 1/3 cup of flour and then checking to see how it turns out.  Overall, I did not use all of the crumb mixture, I would say that you could easily cut that part in half and find that its just right.  Either that or you could double the middle lemon layer.  Since I had extra crumb, I made the crumbs a bit bigger and put it in a pan to toast while the other was baking.

Final Review: The taste was really amazing.  I found the lemon layer to be perfect and not too tart.  The oatmeal crumb itself was very delicious and also not too sweet.  It was well enjoyed alone but I think there was a need for more moisture if you are going to eat a good chunk of it.  Hence the need for the mousse. 😉

Raspberry- Honey Mousse

  • ¾ cup honey flavored w/ 1 ½ tablespoons raspberry jam (I think I used a little less honey and a little more jam)
  • 4 yolks
  • 1 sheet gelatin
  • 1 cup heavy cream (I actually used something just shy of 2 cups, but probably should have left it at 1cup)
  • 2 tablespoons fruit puree

Add yolks to a saucepan and gradually add in the honey.  When completely mixed, cook over a low heat; stir constantly until thickened.  Bloom gelatin sheet and mix into hot honey mixture until smooth.  Remove from the heat and cool. (This is when I dolloped in some fruit puree when I felt the raspberry flavor wasn’t coming out as much as I would like.)

Beat the cream until stiff and fold into the honey mixture.

Chill before serving.

This recipe was really the most experimental portion of my parfait. I wanted to flavor the honey and have it tinted slightly so it would make a better contrasting layer.  The raspberry jam gave it a good consistency but it was the puree that really brought out the fruit flavor.  I would have used raspberry puree if we had had it.  Since there wasn’t any, I just had to wing it and I didn’t think passion fruit would be an acceptable addition.  My mistake in making this was when I was blooming the gelatin.  I lost focus and when I went to get the gelatin sheet, it had gotten dissolved in the bit of water.  I should have just tossed it and not added it to the pan I was stirring but I did.  I think this left this more watery than I would have liked.  Either that or I probably should have added another sheet of gelatin at this point.  Overall, I did not use all of the flavor base when I folded it into the mousse.  I think I used somewhere between 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup of it.  The rest I used for garnish on the plate and glass.  So, I think that part of the mixture could easily be reduced by half.

Final Review: I would like to make this recipe again, if I ever have the chance.  I’m not a big fan of honey but I know that the flavor is dependent on the taste of it.  So pick only the best honey for this.  I liked the berry flavor to the honey and the mousse was wonderfully light.  I had people dipping their spoons with gusto into the leftover mousse, many of them piling it onto the extra scraps of the lemon crumb.  The flavor base would be a good bit of sauce if you left out the yolks, but due to the cooking of the sauce before cooling, it’s just as delicious as extra sauce when plating this mousse.

Candied Lemon Peel

  • 1 whole fresh lemon, well washed (I used 1 1/2 large puerto rican “lemons”)
  • 2 ½ cups granulated sugar
  • 2 cups water

Use a vegetable peeler to remove the peel from the lemon in vertical strips. Try to remove only the yellow zest, avoiding as much of the white pith as possible. Save the lemon for another use.  (I also made thin strips of the half lemon I used.)

In a small saucepan, combine the peels with 2 cups cold water. Bring to a boil, and then drain off the water. Again add 2 cups cold water, bring to a boil, and drain. Repeat the process a third time, then remove the peels from the pan and set aside.

Measure 2 cups of the sugar into the pan and add 1 cup water, whisking until the sugar dissolves. Add the peels and bring to a boil over medium heat. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer, uncovered, until the peels are tender and translucent, 10 to 15 minutes. Drain the peels and let cool.

Measure the remaining 1/2 cup sugar into a medium bowl and add the peels. Toss to coat. Using a fork or your fingers, remove the peels one at time, gently shaking each to remove excess sugar.

Store peels in an airtight container. They will keep for several weeks.

Alright, so I TOTALLY didn’t read this recipe right but since no one ate the larger pieces of candied peel, I think there was no harm done.  The repeated boiling of the peels is to lessen the flavor in them.  Without that step its VERY strong.  I kinda liked it and chopped up a peel and nibbled on the little pieces.  The strips tasted just fine.  I boiled them for less time than the strips so they wouldn’t lose too much of their color. I would recommend setting out some paper towel to place the peels when you pull them out of the syrup.  This helps to put them in the sugar to toss.  When you set them to dry, this is the time they will harden and take shape so set them on a dry plate.  This process works well for all sorts of citrus peels as I used something more akin to a lime than a lemon.

Final Review: I really had fun making this.  The professor was very impressed with the sparkly sugared strips and they made wonderful additions to any plate.  I think this little trick will be something I will do time and time again. 🙂

Its done!

Separately or all together they make a wonderful dessert.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

