Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

Something for a girl to read, over and over again July 16, 2010

Filed under: Random musings — bombshellwithin @ 8:48 PM

I will admit to reading a lot of romance novels. I believe I have read hundreds of them. They are quick, lovely reads and, invariably after finishing one, it makes me believe that love can endure. It's a way to feel good and while I know that a hunky man will not ride in and sweep me off my feet, it is nice to know that one some realm of existence that love can exist.

From all the books I have read, however, there is a single story that I can read time and time again and it has made me cry each and every single time.

I first read "Remembrance" when I was about 14 or 15. My mother had banished me from reading romance novels but I would sneak over to my aunt's library and read my fill of them for hours- since hours is all it takes for me to finish one. I came across this story and it just… caught me off guard.

Without giving too much away, it's a story of a present day writer who finds she cannot be happy with her present life and love… and in trying to find the answer, finds a psychic who tells her that her life now is being ruled by unhappiness transpired in past lives. Her real love, whom she has met a few lifetimes already, would not come to her again for another 4 lifetimes. Being a little bit skeptic and a whole lot of a stubborn know-it-all, she embarks on a journey that not only crosses through new barriers, but also time itself.

Now, I have to say that I believe there is something to it… the whole thing about past lives. I mean, it could well be that who we are today isn't just a matter of the lives we have lived now but those we have lived through the ages. I would like to think that my love for regency historical romance novels stems from the chance I may have lived a great love during that time myself.

Or maybe I just let my imagination run away with me and I'm a hopeless romantic no matter what.

For those who may have read this book… the part where we jump from one lifetime in the middle ages back where it all began…. well, that's the part that makes me sob my little heart out.

For those who haven't read it.. maybe you should. Don't be so biased against romance novels. They are merely stories about love and life… about someone trying to find happiness. And sometimes we learn that we have to work for our happiness, that it takes more than just an amazing person to complete us… that sometimes we have to learn to fulfill our own needs.

Ultimately, isn't that what we desire out of our own lives?

Powered by Plinky

 

Leave a Reply

