Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

The Amapola Challengers August 1, 2010

Filed under: baking,contest,Update — bombshellwithin @ 2:25 PM

I won’t trouble you with a lot of chit chat and get to showing all the cakes.  There were 19 entries.. so this is going to take a while…

my cake

Well, I arrived first so this is my entry; red velvet cake w/ cream cheese frosting and crystallized orchid decorations

The entry beside mine was the first for the 13-17 category and it was a strawberry shortcake. Very delicious.

Next was a banana cake. The crumb was rather dry and the nuts had apparently gone bad.

I have no idea what this was made out of but it was solid and icky.

#7 was amazing and was so beautiful, I thought it's chocolatey goodness was sure to win. #8 was some sort of crumb cake that tasted a little underdone.

Oh look, I skipped #5. This was very colorful but the inner crumb of the cake seemed a little odd. It was pretty good.

And if I knew how to count, I'd see I skipped #6, a carrot cake. It looked nice but tasted a little dry.

Now I'm back on the right numbers. #9 took second place it looked very dry and seemed to be a lemon concoction. #10 was some orange pound cake... and it would be so mean for me to say it was like having a bite of styrofoam.

There was surprisingly another red velvet entry but boy could our recipes not be more different! Goodness. The baker of it was sweet but I will say I was NOT a fan of her cake. #12 was a cake made with coffee and while moist, the coffee flavor was overpowering.

I don't know what flavor this cake was supposed to be. The green coconut flakes were a little offputting but it tasted better than it looked.

This cake almost seems impressive... but honestly, I'd rather not revisit the flavors of this cake. *shudders*

#15, I think I tried a bit of this cake but I can't remember what flavors it had. Really, after trying a dozen cakes... it can be a bit much.

This entry was very sweet and it had rose petals on the cake icing. There was a hint of their scent, so this cake was very delicate.

This was the second and only other entry for the 13-17 group and was the one that took first place. I did not get to try it but the other entry was so good that I cannot understand how this one won.

This guayaba cake took 3rd place and I actually got a piece of it. I didn't taste the guayaba in it so it was a little bit of a let down.

This was the last entry and the one that won it all. I did not get to try it but I have to say the outside did not make it look very appetizing. The inside as made with nutella so it might have been very good. I would hope it would be good because it won.

There you have it ladies and gentlemen, all 19 of the entries on Friday!  It was great to meet so many passionate bakers.  I can’t wait to have another chance at meeting more of them.

 

One Response to “The Amapola Challengers”

  1. Dee Says:

    THAT won? your cake had to atleast come in to 3rd place. only two other cakes looked nicer, and from the description tasted nicer. That chocolate cake made my mouth water but only cause it reminded me of the compagnos cake. ohhhh that mana from the heavens I’ll never taste again 😦


Leave a Reply

