Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

It’s that time of year again… November 1, 2010

Filed under: NaBloPoMo,NaNoWriMo,Update — bombshellwithin @ 11:50 AM

I say this for several reasons actually.

It’s the time of year when the worst of hurricane season has passed and that means I don’t get power outages!  YAY!

SERIOUSLY, I spent almost the entire month of August without power.  Not that it was gone for the entire month but it did come and go so often… with it being gone more often than not… that I might as well say that the month was spent without electricity.

 

But what about the months of September and October?

OK! You caught me there.  I was trying to make excuses for not having blogged in what feels like forever.  And for the month of August and early September, I can tell you that this was my excuse.  However, it’s still doesn’t hold much water… I mean, I’ve had things I have wanted to blog about.  But everyone knows that when you fall off the blogging wagon, it makes it that much harder to get back on again.

“But I’m tired of seeing “She Spouts Sensual Stanzas”!!!” said scizor.

“You need to warm up with your writing by blogging from now.” said my older brother a week ago.

I JUST DIDN’T FEEL LIKE IT! is my only real excuse.

However, it’s now NOVEMBER.

And everyone should know what THAT means.

At least everyone who tuned in last year.

It is time for both NaNoWriMo & NaBloPoMo.

For those of you who do not know what either of those ridiculous looking acronyms mean… it just means that November is the national month for both novel writing and blog posting.  In 30 days I am committing myself and my time and maybe even my sanity to posting every single day AND writing 50,000 words in some semblance of story telling so I can call it a novel.

Sounds like a daunting task.

But not only did I do it last year….

But I succeeded on both accounts.

The sad news is that the over 52,000 words I churned out into what I considered to be a respectable first draft for a novel was lost shortly after last Christmas when my operating system just stopped functioning on my computer.  Silly and stupid bombshell that I am… I FORGOT to save it all by emailing it to myself and everyone I know… not to mention using one of the half dozen pen drives I own but can never seem to find.

I cried.

A LOT.

No use crying over spilled milk, however.  It was painful and I’ve got to move on.  Over the past year I’ve attempted to rewrite it all.  It’s still all inside my head.

Seriously.

That’s where all my stories are.

I have a million of them.

But I am also a believer that everything happens for a reason.

Whatever the reason may have been that caused me to write so many words only to have lost them the following month was… I cannot begin to explain.  But it has led me to rethink my writing… and what I’m planning on writing for my novel this month.   Also, if I succeed in writing my decent first draft, I might actually consider polishing it up and submitting it somewhere.

How’s that for something new?

Of the two writing challenges I have willingly opted to participate in, I know that NaNoWriMo will take the most out of me.  It requires inspiration, forced typing and really churning it out with purposeful discipline.  NaBloPoMo will be far easier.  I will be able to just dedicate 2 times a week to it and schedule out my posts.  This way, I can take time for my writing and give myself much needed breaks.  That and let y’all know that I’m alive.  I will try not to just stockpile a lot of entries, I hope to include bonus entries along with them too when something of particular interest pops up.

PLUS… Well, I’m not going to ruin the surprise of everything the month of November has in store for me.  I will just try to blog about it as best as I can.  I do promise you that it will be an exciting time and by this time next month, you might not even recognize the bombshell.

STAY TUNED!

No, I'm not naked in this pic

 

 

Leave a Reply

