Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

The Color Purple November 16, 2010

Filed under: Random musings — bombshellwithin @ 3:53 AM

Yesterday on Oprah, they had the 25th anniversary of the movie The Color Purple.  I’ve seen this movie more times than I can remember.  I remember seeing it longer ago than I could fully understand what it was about.  There is something about the tone of the movie that just touches my heart.

True to most adaptations of books, the movie version is very different than the book version.  There’s nothing wrong with the movie if you’ve never read the book but the book…. just adds a whole other depth to it.  I almost wish the movie had a lot of the book but I can understand how a movie made back then could not hold true to some of the storylines.  Still, I don’t think they could, well they could… but I don’t think they should… ever remake it.

While I was watching the show and making dinner, the actors were all talking about their favorite lines from the movie.  There were the obvious ones that are classic lines from their characters.  And it made me think of my favorite line from it:

Shug: More than anything God love admiration.
Celie: You saying God is vain?
Shug: No, not vain, just wanting to share a good thing. I think it pisses God off when you walk by the colour purple in a field and don’t notice it.
Celie: You saying it just wanna be loved like it say in the bible?
Shug: Yeah, Celie. Everything wanna be loved. Us sing and dance, and holla just wanting to be loved. Look at them trees. Notice how the trees do everything people do to get attention… except walk?
[they laugh]
Shug: Oh, yeah, this field feels like singing!”

The part that I remember always is “Everything wanna be loved” and how sometimes we just “holla” from want of it.  And yet we all struggle for it.  Sometimes love, that should be so easy and natural in some relationships… like father and child, or between siblings or friends… doesn’t always flow so easily.  When that happens, we do everything for the attention… just wanting to be loved.

So maybe we need to show our colors proudly…

Just to be noticed.

And loved.

Being the leafy bombshell, I’m not purple, however.  I’m green.

And we all know it’s not easy being green.

 

One Response to “The Color Purple”

  1. The Color Purple « Emerging of the Bombshell Within…

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……


Leave a Reply

