Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

The muppet bombshell November 17, 2010

Filed under: silliness — bombshellwithin @ 4:11 AM

I remember reading once that amongst the most influencing things of my generation were things like MTV’s Total Recall Countdown and Sesame Street; they also mentioned the prevalence of divorce and stuff like that, but I remember giggling more about the other two I mentioned.  And the funny thing is, I think you can tell a lot about a person of my age just by asking them if they were a Sesame Streeter or a Muppet Baby.

My older brother was one who loved Sesame Street.  He could work the VCR at the age of 2 just so he could watch the videos and watch “C is for Cookie” a thousand times over.

I, however, am a Muppet Baby.

All the way.

I loved the movies and the series.  My mom often sees me wearing striped knee socks and says that I’m just trying to get in touch with my inner Nanny.   Heck, even now I readily admit the Muppet movies still make me cry and that I want to walk the aisle to the same song Miss Piggy did in The Muppets Take Manhattan.

Yes, I did just say that.

For those who didn’t know, the characters on Sesame Street are considered “muppets” but are not THE muppets.  That’s why they are all at the church for the wedding.  Seriously, though.  I watched that video while posting this and I got teary eyed!  And, about 1:40 mins in, there’s a part when the whole church sways and I actually sway precisely at the same time and in the same direction as they do to go with it.

Maybe I’ve watched that scene too many times.

Or maybe I’m just nuts.

But come on! The Muppets are really awesome.

Watching that video in particular lets me know that maybe I developed my bombshell and diva ways from Miss Piggy.  Seriously, she’s got style and attitude but I’ll never make as pretty of a blonde, so I won’t even try.

PS: Kermit’s final sentiments there, about setting up the video conference… Just makes me think of how silly I get with my own friends when we webchat on cam.  Maybe that’s what we need, to invest in some awesome stage lighting and stuff.  Also, seems Muppets Studio has done some very YouTube-esque videos to put up.  So, if you want to waste some time and laugh yourself silly, watch them here.

 

2 Responses to “The muppet bombshell”

  1. zarishi Says:

    Muppets rule! Maybe we shall have a video call sometime!

  2. gaintheday Says:

    I love the Muppets.


Leave a Reply

