Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

A girl revising her gingerbread recipe January 6, 2011

Filed under: baking,Gingerbread,Recipes — bombshellwithin @ 5:59 AM

Amongst my friends, I am known for my cookies.  It is a big deal to be on my Christmas cookie list.  Some people lobby for weeks and months.  Zarishi has been lobbying for me to send him cookies for years now!  This year, because funds were so limited, I only made a single batch of gingerbread cookies and some chocolate chunk cookies and only sent some to my Mr. Land.  The rest are here… not really being eaten by the skinny people I reside with.

But it just would not have been Christmas had we not made cookies!

When I was going to make them, I just took the recipe off my blog.  Doing this reminded me of the often heard complaint I receive from Luskca.  That even though she follows my recipe precisely as I list them, she knows they never taste the same as when I make them.

She isn’t wrong about this either.

Seeing my recipe listed, I knew immediately that I don’t make it as I put it there.  I make some noticeable changes according to my taste.  So, I thought in the spirit of giving, I am going to share with you a closer version of my gingerbread cookie recipe.

Note that I said closer version.

I can’t share my real version.

Not because I’m a selfish bitch baker but because so much of how I cook and bake is really by gut feeling and taste.  I want to be able to tell you how to make it precisely like mine but once I make my recipe as listed, I still add a few more dashes of this and that until it *feels* right to me.  Mr. Land calls me a food whisperer.  In a way I suppose that I am.  I do let the food tell me by feeling how it should be.  It’s like something I can hear through my fingertips.

And yes, I do know one does not hear using their fingertips.

Enjoy!

Gingerbread Cutouts

Makes one tree or approximately 8 dozen

  • 1 ½ cup sugar
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 3 generous tablespoons dark corn syrup
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons milk
  • 3 ¼ cup all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons powdered ginger
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • a solid splash/dash of vanilla extract
  • colored sugar, if desired for decoration

1.      In a large bowl, combine sugar, butter and corn syrup; beat until light and fluffy.  Add egg; blend well.

2.      Add half the flour and all the remaining ingredients, mix well to form smooth dough.  Taste until it seems tasty to you.  Add the rest of the flour.  More flour or less flour may be required depending on humidity; dough should just have lost its stickiness and be smooth.  Divide in thirds, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until firm.

3.      Heat oven to 350°F.  On floured surface, roll out a third of dough at a time to 1/8 thickness.  (keep remaining dough refrigerated).  Cut with floured cutters in any shape desired.  Place 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets.  These cookies tend to spread.  So if you have not rolled out thicker, leave a generous margin for cookie spread.  If desired, sprinkle and lightly press in colored sugar for decoration.

4.      Bake for 9-11 minutes or until set.  Immediately remove from cookie sheets.  Cool completely on a wire rack.

 

 

2 Responses to “A girl revising her gingerbread recipe”

  1. zarishi Says:

    And I am still waitting for those cookies and maybe some red cupcakes as well 🙂

    • ha! I knew you would say that! Hows about you commission me to make you a set of mittens and matching scarf… and I include cookies in your order? :p Cupcakes don’t travel well. It would be an icing nightmare in the box.


Leave a Reply

