Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

A girl who watches Fight Club February 1, 2011

Filed under: Movie Review,Random musings — bombshellwithin @ 5:33 AM
Tags: , , ,

I have mentioned before that there are random movies that I like to watch whenever I happen across them.  I may have seen them before but, if there is nothing new worth watching, I will just fall back on watching them over and over again.  Some I very likely know nearly the whole script to.  Others I watch more like a guilty pleasure.  As I was re-watching Fight Club, I could have sworn that I’d blogged about this.  In fact, I was so sure that I’d blogged about it that I wasn’t going to bother blogging about it now.  However, a couple searches through my blog and posts, I found nothing about the movie.

How weird is that?

It makes me wonder…

why I so thoroughly believed that I had.

Anyway…

I remember the first time I saw this movie.  It was late at night and I don’t think I saw the entire movie the first time.  I think it was only half of the movie.  Luckily it was the second half and therefore the most twisted part and it made me hunt down watching the rest of it.  I think I’ve actually only seen it straight through about…. twice?  Every time I manage to see  it on, I only get to see it part way through.  I actually think that it’s one of the best ways to watch it if you know the plot.

So, for those who have never seen it, I will warn that you might not want to read this all the way to the end.  But, it’s an oddly great movie.  It’s narrated by a man who seems to be going through a very tough time in his life.  Tyler Durden is an odd influence and all together they create a new initiative on how life should be.  Where his life was once based on material possessions and a bored existence, suddenly becomes wired into something bigger than you can imagine.  It takes the male dissatisfaction with their lives and molds it into a societal judgement.

I think Tyler said it best:

Man, I see in fight club the strongest and smartest men who’ve ever lived. I see all this potential, and I see squandering. God damn it, an entire generation pumping gas, waiting tables; slaves with white collars. Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes, working jobs we hate so we can buy shit we don’t need. We’re the middle children of history, man. No purpose or place. We have no Great War. No Great Depression. Our Great War’s a spiritual war… our Great Depression is our lives. We’ve all been raised on television to believe that one day we’d all be millionaires, and movie gods, and rock stars. But we won’t. And we’re slowly learning that fact. And we’re very, very pissed off.

But better than the actual movie on a whole is hunky near nude Brad Pitt are the quotes.  The movie just cracks me up.  They are true in an almost mean sort of way and of course, the bombshell can be quite mean and sarcastic when she wants to be.  It’s not to say that I believe them or actually apply them to my life.  In a way, it does sort of foster some of the beliefs I have about society and men.  I think the premise of fight club, trying to empower men in new ways when they are so stuck as middle children with no real purpose, seems to fit in with what I’ve thought about a lot of men no longer having strong masculine influences in their lives.

Again, Tyler says it most interestingly with:

Our fathers were our models for God. If our fathers bailed, what does that tell you about God?

But you know… I think the best moral of the Fight Club story is…

That inside of every Edward Norton…

There’s a Brad Pitt waiting to bust out.

And beat the shit out of people.

And blow stuff up.

 

One Response to “A girl who watches Fight Club”


Leave a Reply

