Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

A girl playing with lego February 10, 2011

Filed under: Games,Random Review — bombshellwithin @ 5:46 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

I can’t recall if I let everyone know that the Stalker and her beau had gotten me Lego Harry Potter years 1-4 for my Nintendo DS.

Anyone else remember if I wrote about it?

Well, let’s just say I did so that way y’all know that I’ve been spending the ensuing weeks trying to play it.

The thing is, I like my game playing to be rather straight forward and I felt that being in the Harry Potter lego universe has been anything but.  You see, we get to replay some of the more distinctive and challenging scenes that happen in the Harry Potter movies.  I’m sure everyone has either read the books or seen the movies, so I won’t rehash the summary of the overall Harry Potter story on here.  Suffice it to say that you spend the time learning new levels of magic and getting to explore the universe alongside a varied cast of friends.

I have to say that I was ready to really like this game.  Until I got insanely frustrated playing with it.  I thought I was doing something wrong.  I was not collecting all the items per level as it seemed I could achieve.  There were entire areas X’ed out that required certain skill sets that one doesn’t even learn until possibly the end of the game.  I didn’t even understand this until about the second Harry Potter movie level.  I kept replaying the earlier levels, frustrated that no matter how hard I tried, there were parts I was not meant to access yet.

When it dawned on me that you sort of had to just get past the levels and main quests and essentially return and replay the whole game all over again using the “FREE PLAY” parts of the levels one has just unlocked, I began to go through the game more efficiently.  You see, I’m the sort of player who likes to talk to EVERYONE and blow up EVERYTHING and open absolutely ever chest and door I come across in a game.  This was particularly handy when I played games like Knights of the Old Republic one and two.  Unfortunately, this sort of game play does not come in handy when going through this lego world.

Therefore, I learned to let it go and just got through all the stages as best I could.  The deeper into the game you get, the more you have learned and the last levels you will have gained pretty much as much as you can without having to do it again using other characters.  Because, try as you might, you do have to replay the parts all over again having a team composing of at least a strong character, a ghost, a teacher, a goblin and/or house-elf, harry and hermione.  Who you choose to take along with you is your decision.  You just have to remember what was required in each level for you to pick the right character to pass through as much as possible.

Aside from the huge thing of being made to play the game through twice, I found the characters to be adorable.  Seriously, they were the cutest set of characters ever.  You get to see just about everyone made into lego form by collection the chocolate frog character cards at a rate of 2 per level.  My favorite to play was Professor McGonagall but the funniest to see was the Voldemort/Quirrell one.

In the end, one can get through the game the first time rather quickly.  The game prompts you through the quests very easily and I think this would be especially good for younger players.  I’m sure older players can go about making special strategies for the came that just seemed to elude me.  I will say that having to play it again makes one play it at a slower pace the second time around.  At least that was what happened to me.  I wasn’t too keen on seeing the same levels all over again so rapidly so I would just take it two levels at a time every day until I had collected everything that I was missing.

 

Leave a Reply

