Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

A girl terrible at crosswords February 27, 2011

Filed under: Games,HELP! — bombshellwithin @ 8:59 AM
Tags: , ,

I’ve never been one to read the newspaper.  If anyone has seen Puerto Rican newspapers, you’d really know why I have boycotted reading anything but the horoscopes in them for the many years I inhabited the island.  They are just not pleasant to read and truly were not an example of proper grammar.  You would think a newspaper would be a good source to expand one’s vocabulary.  I guess PR lost that memo as they have begun to conform their news to the very improper Puerto Rican jargon that frustrates so many nowadays.

However, in the mornings, if I’m on the elementary school rotation, the kids get an hour to read newspaper articles and later the comics if they have the time.  During this time, it’s important for me to read the paper as well so I can suggest appropriate articles for them to read and discuss them with some of the kids.  After that, while the kids have to do their Science, Math and English, I still get to keep the paper with me and try to sort out the little games that are included with the comics.  In the newspaper packet there are at least 6 sort of word games I can play but only one of which I’m really good at…. the word scramble.

From Friday’s newspaper there were 3 crosswords.  THREE!  Since the crosswords comprise of approximately half of the available games to fill in, I always try to solve them.  I’ve always wanted to be the sort of person who could.  But in this week I have come to the sad realization that I am just terrible at them.  When I say terrible, it doesn’t mean that I should just try doing them in pencil.  I mean that not even having a pencil will allow me to get more than 5 clues written in…. and does not guarantee that those are right more than 30% of the time.

Is there a way for one to get better at them?  Can you practice that or is it just really a matter of gaining enough general knowledge to figure them out?  Do you have to understand better the way the clues are worded or is it a matter of educated guesswork?

The bombshell wants to know.

Because if I am to continue at my job, I will likely spend 2 days or more with the younger kids on my shift rotation and I really want to be able to have something to do.  Or, at the very least, I want to feel not as sucky at crossword puzzles.

PS/ On another note: It’s funny how I’m feeling terrible at my blogging lately.  I’m still managing to get a blog entry out every night and it’s often by sometime in the evening when I’ve gotten home from work and can switch mental gears enough to get thinking about what to blog.  I only have myself to blame for being in this conundrum.  I stopped scheduling entries but for a day and I feel like I’ve been playing catch-up ever since.  But the silly thing is…. while I feel like I’ve “fallen behind”, isn’t this how other people usually blog?  They just wander around and sit down and manage to type something out daily?

So then why do I feel so bad about doing it that way?

 

Leave a Reply

