Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

Movie Review: The Lover March 19, 2011

Filed under: Movie Review — bombshellwithin @ 5:46 AM
Tags: , , ,

alternate blog title: Yet another movie that made the bombshell cry

As yesterday was my birthday and I wanted to do nothing more than celebrate the cosmic awesomeness that is me, myself and I, I decided to do only the things that I wanted to do.  I stayed home, pampered myself and watched a random movie in between facial masks.  Since nothing looked good of the recognizable titles on Netflix, I opted for something completely unknown but sounding more interesting than anything else I scrolled over.

It’s the story of a French schoolgirl who has a blazing affair with a Chinese businessman in 1929 Saigon.  But their affair only looked blazing as they have many steamy sex scenes and it’s all about the loss of love, passion and pleasure in a tumultuous life.  The movie itself is an adaptation of a novel which supposedly is semi-autobiographical.  I would say more but I don’t really want to give away too much.  I don’t know what I expected the movie to be about when I first began watching it, but more than halfway through it I did not expect it to be the sentimental type movie.

And then the stupid thing made me cry.

Why?

Because I went and fell in love with him.

The character of the older man is played by Tony Leung Ka-fai and all I have to say is AMEN to hunky men like this one being in existence.  That and their showing their spectacular bottoms and soulful expressions in romance movies such as this one.  While I think the movie was trying to make you feel and understand the emotional handicapped plight of the “strong female lead” especially since the movie was a netflix suggestion for just that category, I found myself feeling for the male lead instead.  You could see it in his hunky almond eyes the pain and longing that having fallen in love had brought upon him.  His acting was superb considering that the movie had so many musical pauses that it won awards for it’s cinematic score when it was released in 1992.  But it’s what Tony manages to do in those silent moments that reel a girl in.

If I could have reached into that screen and kissed him all better, I would have.

But it goes without saying that the bombshell is a romantic puddle of sentimental goo.  I cried for him…. but maybe I also cried a little for myself too.  However, I’m not yet ready to write why that was on my blog just yet.  Instead, I will now try to figure out if I should tell all of y’all to watch this movie or not….

I guess I’m undecided on that matter.

If you happen across it and are looking for something steamy and semi-poignant, then you should definitely watch it.  If that’s not your type of movie then, by all means, you can skip it.  But, if you do decide to watch it, please come back and let me know what you thought of it.

I have a feeling this movie will have me thinking for a few days.

 

4 Responses to “Movie Review: The Lover”

  1. InsideJourneys Says:

    SO, I saw this movie way back when and the images of the opening scene, with the pen moving across the page (and others) have stayed with me since. I bought the VHS, yes, it was that long ago and watched it again on my TV but opening didn’t have the same emotional pull. The big screen vs my small tv could account for that.

    I’m a romantic at heart so everything about it appealed to me. I could see myself in that girl. She was sweet, innocent looking and naive — all the things he seemed to fall for. I was sad when it ended even though I knew they would never be together.

    I guess I should get a copy of the DVD or better yet, join Netflix so I can watch it again. I think I even bought the book. Yes, it really left its mark on me.

    Thanks for bringing back that memory.
    Marcia

  2. Terry Says:

    Hi there, I saw this movie in 1993, right after it first came out. I fell in love with it, for the genuinely beautiful pain, yet deep pleasure it portrayed. I bought the movie after I first saw it … then lost it after a few (military) moves. I was surprised to see it on Netflix. I watched it again today… so sad! He and the girl have the most intense chemistry… He has a vulnerability about him that sucks me in… not to mention he has the hottest bod! OMG! Anyway, towards the last scene, when she is on the ship back to France, and he is in his car , saying goodbye from a distance, my heart ached for him and I cried… again. I truly wanted them to be together 😦 Its such an emotional story… one that never gets old… Its a classic! *sigh*

  3. Darren Says:

    I liked this movie for several reasons. I thought the background shots in pre-war Saigon was excellent. It made you feel that you were right there. This movie touched a lot of taboos. First, the fact that the man had a sexual relationship with a child that’s incest in today’s society. This movie seemed more erotic than some of the rated X movies that I’ve seen. I especially liked the background music. It made my heart pulse faster with anticipation. Another taboo (especially back in those days) a non-white man having sex with a white girl that was almost unheard of. It’s usually the other way around. Another aspect was the socioecomic status between the Chinese man the girl. There was a class difference. There’s a lot of things that most people can relate to in this movie. In my opinion, we all have fantasies about having sexual relationships with another race. Despite all the differences, they both fell in love with each other but because of ethnic values, family values, society, socioeconomic status, situation, etc this was not to be. I thought the Chinese man had an awesome body. I also cried when they departed in the movie. This is one of those classic movies that I like to watch once in awhile. I hope another movie comes out like this one.

  4. I really want to see this amazing sad love story.


Leave a Reply

