Emerging of the Bombshell Within

An eclectic view of a girl's life

A girl musing on FaceBook April 26, 2011

Filed under: Personal Interest,Random musings — bombshellwithin @ 10:58 PM
Tags: , ,

Lately, I can’t escape this persisting notion that I want to condense my online exposure.  With it, I’ve been trying to evaluate which profiles I should keep and which I should maybe do away with.  My blog is one I will definitely keep as I enjoy writing little snippets daily and posting up random pictures.  But then there are things like my Twitter and FaceBook accounts that have not seen much activity from me.  However, Twitter still holds some appeal to me.  I just work so much that I would bore everyone with my tweets lately.  That and I’m not allowed to have my phone on me while at work so I have begun to not feel the need to keep my phone on me as much when I’m not working.

With Facebook, I can’t say I feel the same affinity.  I remember joining just because my student council friends insisted I do so for the sake of the group they wanted me to help run.  I was far more active back then but once I changed direction in life, I have used it less and less.  Now, I may check it daily but I never post anything of mine up there.  If I really care to share things with people, they know enough to check my blog for it.  When the mood strikes me, I will leave comments on things other people post.

But is it enough to keep a profile on it?

I remember reading an article some weeks back about whether facebook will endure.  They said that it would be difficult for another platform to propagate to so many users and gain a strong hold of them to get them away from facebook.  Since there are so many people on facebook, in order to change to another site, you would have to convince your friends to join up with you.  I remember doing this for Twitter.  My friends were hesitant to use it and I remember not using it myself for many months when I first got an account.  It would be hard for me to try to convince my friends to another site especially when my reason for leaving something like facebook would be to consolidate the accounts I have.

So could I just delete it if I wanted to?

I’ve been toying with the idea.

The more I think about it, the more I like how it sounds.

Whenever I try though, I just end up fiddling with the privacy settings and deleting “friends” I feel no inclination to see clog up my feed.  Am I the only one who feels this way?  Or does everyone just love facebook?  Is there something I’m not seeing or just plain missing?

Tell me all about it.

 

2 Responses to “A girl musing on FaceBook”

  1. gaintheday Says:

    The thing I will advise is – if you keep your own accounts, just say ‘hey, I don’t use this anymore” and leave that as your last post. That ensures that no one can take you/your identity on that said site. Especially with Facebook, that’s something to consider. Just lock it down, have the barest of minimals, but that way it ensures that YOU are still YOU. No impostors.

    *hugs*

  2. scizor1 Says:

    I say keep it, even if you strip it to bare minimums. At least in my case Facebook has been great to stay in contact with friends and family but and to have the option of being therefor contact if someone I haven’t seen in ages comes looking for me. If it weren’t for Facebook I don’t think I would’ve been able to get in contact with my estranged siblings, but you know that story already. ❤


Leave a Reply

